CRA Super Series To Team With The Hooters Pro Cup Series at IRP Again in 2005

Salem, IN (December 22, 2004) -- CRA Super Series officials and USAR officials have announced that the Hooters Pro Cup Series will team up again with the CRA Super Series for another exciting stock car special event at Indianapolis Raceway Park in 2005. Practice and qualifying for both series will be held on Saturday, May 14th. On Sunday, May 15th the Hooters Pro Cup Northern Series will have a 200-lap event that will be followed by a 100 lap CRA Super Series event.

"We are very excited to be having an event with the Hooters Pro Cup Series again in 2005," remarked R.J. Scott, Managing Partner of the CRA Super Series. "Fans will have an excellent opportunity to see two of the top short track touring divisions in action for 300 laps at one of the premier racing facilities in America. We are really looking forward to working with everyone with the Hooters Pro Cup Series to promote this great event again, we would like to thank Gene and Tony Cox of USAR for allowing us to be a part of the IRP show again in 2005"

The Hooters Pro Cup Series has become home for two former CRA Super Series Champions including 2002 Champion Joel Kauffman and 1997 and 1999 Champion Brian Ross. Ross is the all time leader in CRA Super Series victories at IRP with 4 wins, followed by Junior Hanley with 3 wins. Former part-time series drivers Glenn Gault and Greg Van Alst also competed with the Hooters Pro Cup Series during the 2004 season along with former ASA Racing Series Champion Gary St. Amant, who has made selected starts with the CRA Super Series the past two seasons.

Muncie, Indiana's Evan Jackson took the lead of the CRA Super Series Steve Keller Trucking Tri-Axle 100, on May 16th, 2004 at Indianapolis Raceway Park from 2003 CRA Super Series Champion Bobby Parsley on lap 13 and led the rest of the race to claim the victory in the first ever CRA Super Series race ran in conjunction with a Hooters Pro Cup Series event. Jackson won by five car lengths, holding off several hard charges from Scott Hantz on several late restarts in the event. Aaron Hulings had his best ever CRA Super Series finish with a third place effort followed by Eddie Van Meter in fourth, and Junior Hanley in fifth.