Sprints on Dirt Lake Odessa results 2009-05-09

DAGGETT DOMINATES ALL THAT ASCS SOD AT I-96 LAKE ODESSA, Mich. (May 9, 2009) -- Dustin Daggett topped the field and the weather to win Saturday night's Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP feature at I-96 Speedway. Daggett took the...


LAKE ODESSA, Mich. (May 9, 2009) -- Dustin Daggett topped the field and the weather to win Saturday night's Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP feature at I-96 Speedway.

Daggett took the lead from Dain Naida after a restart and blasted through lapped traffic to win his 55th career ASCS Sprints on Dirt victory in the Mott Motorsports Gaerte powered Maxim Chassis. The I-96 Speedway staff got their facility ready to race after torrential rain hit the track until around noon of race day.

"I have to thank the crew for helping get the car ready this week and putting this setup on it for the feature," said Dustin Daggett in victory lane. "The car was perfect. I also want to thank all the fans that sat through the cold to watch us race tonight."

Dustin's father Mike Daggett and Naida started on the front row for the 25-lap feature event. Naida led into turn one with Ryan Grubaugh and Dustin Daggett moving past his father Mike for the third sport. Dustin then ran down Grubaugh for second and set his sights on catching Naida for the lead.

Naida's advantage up front was erased when Ryan Ruhl stopped in turn two. Just before that 2008 season's second place point finisher Ben Rutan continued a dismal season in ASCS SOD competition when a mechanical failure caused him to lose power on the front stretch, and was nearly piled into by several competitors. Somehow everyone missed Rutan as he made it to the infield, but retired from the event.

Dustin Daggett stayed glued to Naida during the restart and took the lead. One lap after taking the top spot Daggett nearly drove off the top of turn two, but Naida was not close enough to capitalize. Naida kept pace with Dustin Daggett until driving off the top side of the track in turn two on lap 12. Naida tried to get his car back on track, but eventually came to a top in turn three to bring out the caution flag.JNaida rejoined the tail end of the field for the restart.

After the first attempt at the restart went array when Kirk Cheney's car did not take off, Dustin Daggett was able to stretch his advantage as Mann tried to keep pace. Behind them Mike Daggett and Ryan Grubaugh battled back and forth for the third spot trading the position back and forth multiple times. This allowed Steve Irwin to eventually real in Mike Daggett and Grubaugh and drove by both of them to take third with five laps to go.

Mann tried to keep up with Dustin Daggett through the lapped traffic, but could not keep pace as Dustin went on to win his second ASCS SOD event of the 2009 season. Mann, Irwin, Grubaugh, and Mike Dagget rounded out the top five.

Dustin Daggett, Norman, and Mann won heat race events. Mann also won the Total Seal fast car dash presented by Gaerte Engines. After a wild slide off the backstretch during his heat race Gregg Dalman won the Engine Pro B-Main and picked up the hard charger award, advancing 10 positions to finish 7th.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP:

Heat Races (Top 16 in passing points to "A" main)

Engler Machine and Tool Heat Race #1 (8 Laps): 1. 2m -- Dustin Daggett, 2. 00 -- Ryan Grubaugh, 3. 31 -- Andy Teunessen, 4. 27 -- Ryan Ruhl, 5. 52 -- Mark Broughman, 6. 49t -- Gregg Dalman, 7. 07 -- Jake Stebner, 8 27r -- Ryan Kirkendall DNS: 3w -- Joe Bares.

Lane Automotive/Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps): 1. 3g -- Tim Norman, 2 7r -- Nic Rogers, 3. 6n -- Dain Naida, 4. 6 -- Nathan Bevard, 5. 23 -- Ben Rutan, 6. 55 -- Kirk Cheney, 7. 77 -- Keith Love, 8. 50 -- Mark Grabill

Butlerbuilt Heat Race #3 (8 Laps): 1. 79 -- Brett Mann, 2. 30 -- Steve Irwin, 3. 46 -- Robert Huisken, 4. 88 -- Mike Daggett, 5. 38 -- Aaron Smith, 6. 8 -- Tim Champlin, 7. 70 -- Jim Lingar, 8. 13 -- Davey Brown.

Total Seal Fast Car Dash presented by Gaerte Engines (4 Laps): 1. 79 -- Brett Mann, 2. 2m -- Dustin Daggett, 3. 6n -- Dain Naida, 4. 7 -- Nic Rogers.

"B" Main -- Top 4 finishers advance to "A" Feature

Engine Pro B-Main (10 Laps): 1. 49 -- Gregg Dalman, 2. 8 -- Tim Champlin, 3. 07 -- Jake Stebner, 4. 77 -- Keith Love, 5. 27r -- Ryan Kirkendall, 6. 70 -- Jim Lingar. DNS: 13 -- Davey Brown, 50 -- Mark Grabill, 3w -- Joe Bares.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by Victor Reinz "A" Main Event

"A" Feature (25 Laps): 1. 2m -- Dustin Daggett, 2. 79 -- Brett Mann, 3. 30 -- Steve Irwin, 4. 00 -- Ryan Grubaugh, 5. 88 -- Mike Daggett, 6. 3g -- Tim Norman, 7. 49t -- Gregg Dalman, 8. 6 -- Nathan Bevard, 9. 6n -- Dain Nadia, 10. 46 -- Robert Huisken, 11. 8 -- Tim Champlin, 12. 7 -- Nic Rogers, 13. 27 -- Ryan Ruhl, 14. 07 -- Jake Stebner, 15. 52 -- Mark Broughman, 16. 31 -- Andy Teunessen, 17. 77 -- Keith Love, 18. 55 -- Kirk Cheney, 19. 38 -- Aaron Smith, 20. 23 -- Ben Rutan.

Lap Leaders: Naida 1-5, Dustin Daggett 6 -- 25.

JE/SRP Pistons Hard Charger: Gregg Dalman (+10)

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP Point Standings (Top Ten): 1. Dustin Daggett 300, 2. Steve Irwin 290, 3. (tie) Brett Mann and Mike Daggett 282, 5. (tie) Dain Naida, Gregg Dalman and Tim Norman 276, 8. Ryan Grubaugh 272, 9. (tie) Tim Champlin and Robert Huisken 256.

-credit: ascs

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint