O'Reilly ASCoT 2008 National Schedule Revealed

TULSA, Okla. (December 21, 2007) -- Gearing up for its 17th year of Sprint Car racing action, the O'Reilly American Sprint Cars on Tour National series released a vigorous 2008 schedule from its Tulsa offices on Friday.

The nation's most competitive Sprint Car series is currently slated for 44 nights of racing action at 23 different tracks throughout a dozen different states, including Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Iowa, Missouri, Arizona, Florida, Tennessee, South Dakota, Kansas, Mississippi and Illinois.

The O'Reilly ASCoT National series kicks off at East Bay Raceway Park's 32nd Winter Nationals in Tampa, FL, with the Tenth Annual "King of the 360's Nationals" on January 31, February 1 and February 2. The winner of the February 2 Ronald Laney Memorial will pocket $10,000.

The East Bay opener is the first leg in the Triple Crown of 360-ci Sprint Car racing, which also includes the ASCoT-sanctioned ASCS Knoxville Nationals (July 31, August 1 and August 2) and I-30 Speedway's Short Track Nationals (Oct. 23-25). The Knoxville event will also offer up $10,000 to win, while the Short Track Nationals features a $15,000 winner's share.

ASCoT competitors will get a chance to tune up for Knoxville's ASCS Nationals when the series takes to the hallowed half-mile clay oval for the first time outside of Nationals competition on June 20. That event kicks off the Northern Plains swing, which also includes Clay County Speedway (Spencer, IA), I-90 Speedway (Hartford, SD) and Dakota State Fair Speedway (Huron, SD).

Teams and fans can also gear up for I-30 Speedway's Short Track Nationals with a pair of events, the first taking place on April 26 and then the second on July 12. The July 12 event is the second leg of the 16th Annual ASCS Sizzlin' Summer Speedweek, which also includes 67 Texarkana Speedway (July 11), Creek County Speedway (July 14), Devil's Bowl Speedway (July 17), Oklahoma City's State Fair Speedway (July 18) and Lawton Speedway (July 19).

The series is set to return to several tracks in 2008 after an absence of a year or more, including Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO), Paris Motor Speedway (Paris, TX), Lake Ozark Speedway (Eldon, MO) and Cowtown Speedway (Kennedale, TX).

Drivers contesting the O'Reilly ASCS National championship will face some new challenges over the course of the season as well, with the series making its first stop at a handful of new tracks including Checkered Flag Speedway (Hohenwald, TN), Tri-City Speedway (Granite City, IL), Manzanita Speedway (Phoenix, AZ), Central Arizona Raceway (Casa Grande, AZ) and USA Race Park (Tucson, AZ).

A $150,000 point fund will once again be in place for 2008 with the O'Reilly ASCoT National champion earning $50,000.

-credit: ascs