Billy Pauch and Gary Wright claimed wins in the opening two races of the All Star Sprint Car Series' East Bay Sprint Winternationals in Tampa, Fla.

On Wednesday night, Pauch survived an night of action that included ten flips and one fire. Todd Shaffer was transported to Tampa General Hospital with second degree burns on his face, hands and feet after his car hit the outside wall on lap four of the first C-Main and burst into flames. His was the only injury of the event.

The heat winners on Wednesday were Terry McCarl, Pauch, Tim Shaffer, Bill Brian, Jr., Jeff Shepard and Todd Kane. Brian Ellenberger and Dean Jacobs won each of the two C-Main events, and Dale Blaney took top honors in the B-Main. McCarl set a track record in qualifying with a lap at 13.039 seconds.

On Thursday, Gary Wright dominated, much as he has so far on this Florida tour, leading the last 15 laps of the 25-lapper.

Winning the heat races on Thursday were Bob Felmlee, Randy Wolfe, Terry McCarl, Danny Smith and Bill Brian, Jr. The C-Main was taken by Tim Shaffer, and Billy Pauch won the B-Main. Pauch set a new track record in qualifying with a lap of 12.857 seconds. He, McCarl and Lance Dewease all bested the track record set the night before by McCarl.

The top ten finishers from each of the All Star Sprint events at East Bay Raceway were:


1. Billy Pauch 2. Terry McCarl 3. Gary Wright 4. Dean Jacobs 5. Lance Dewease 6. Dale Blaney 7. Fred Rahmer 8. Rodney Duncan 9. Kelly Kinser 10. Frankie Kerr Thursday

1. Gary Wright 2. Terry McCarl 3. Billy Pauch 4. Bill Brian, Jr. 5. Lance Dewease 6. Kelly Kinser 7. Randy Wolfe 8. Danny Smith 9. Jeff Shepard 10. Tim Shaffer

Jack Durbin Motorsport News International (Moderators for "") Homepage