EPS Bison/Red Mills 2002 Killarney Historic Stages Rally
Rally rivals square up for historic rally.

The organisers of the EPS Bison/Red Mills 2002 Killarney Historic Stages Rally, the Killarney & District Motor Club, have attracted entries from the leading exponents of Historic and Classic rallying from Ireland and further afield for the event which will take place on Sunday, December 1st. The competing crews will tackle ten stages during the day, and the respective winners in the categories for Historic, Post-Historic and Classic cars will arrive at the Finish Ramp, adjacent to the Dromhall Hotel (Rally Headquarters) at 5.45p.m. on Sunday evening.

Dessie Nutt, a GP from Blackrock, Co .Derry, has won the Historic section for the past four events, and he returns to further extend his winning streak with his Porsche 911. His main rivals will be John Keatley, also a former winner, and Drexel Gillespie, who finished runner-up to Nutt on the last occasion this event was run.

In the Post-Historic section, it is Manxman, Martin Freestone, who is the top seed, having had considerable success in his Mark1 Escort throughout 2002. He won the category at this event in 1999, while two of the other top Post-Historic seeds, Lloyd Hutchinson and John Farrell, are also former winners.

The Classic section is the most likely to produce a local victory, as KDMC members Tom Randles and Donie O'Sullivan should be well in contention. They will however, be sternly challenged by capable visiting drivers, such as Philip Shaw, Kieran O'Neill, Phil Collins and James Lambert.

The rally route includes famous stages, such as Molls Gap, Kilmackillogue, The Healy Pass, Cod's Head and Ardgroom. The final stage, Derreenderragh, will be run in darkness, providing a final sting in the tail before the conclusion of the event.

Top Seeds (No./Driver/Co-Driver/Address/Car)

1 Dessie Nutt/Geraldine McBride, Northern Ireland, Porsche 911
2 John Keatley/Maurice Beckett, Northern Ireland, Porsche 911
3 Drexel Gillespie/Gill Cotton, N.Ireland/England, Ford Lotus Cortina
5 Philip Wylie/Jim Howe, England, MG B
10 Steve Perez/Jonty Bolsover, England, Porsche 911

4 Martin Freestone/Chris Heyes, Isle of Man, Ford Escort RS2000
6 Lloyd Hutchinson/Lester Hutchinson, Wicklow, Mini Cooper S
7 John Farrell/Christy Farrell, Meath, Ford Escort RS2000
8 Sean Tracy/Paddy Flanagan, Northern Ireland, BMW 2002ti
9 Ray Cunningham/Elaine Cunningham, Galway, Mini Cooper S

66 Philip Shaw/Derek Brannigan, Northern Ireland, Ford Escort RS
67 Kieran O'Neill/Diarmuid Falvey, N.Ireland/Killarney Opel Kadett GT/E
68 Phil Collins/Howard Davies, Wales, Ford Escort RS
69 Donie O'Sullivan/Paul Nagle, Killarney, Ford Escort RS
70 Tom Randles/Diarmuid Lynch, Kilgarvan/Glenflesk, Ford Escort RS

Timetable (First Car Due)
Start, Killarney Racecourse, 0810
Stage 1, Molls Gap, 0835
Stage 2, Kilmackillogue, 0928
Stage 3, The Healy Pass, 0951
Service, Castletownbere, 1004
Stage 4, Cod's Head, 1126
Stage 5, Ardgroom, 1154
Stage 6, The Healy Pass, 1236
Service, Castletownbere, 1249
Stage 7, Cod's Head, 1411
Stage 8, Ardgroom, 1439
Stage 9, Kilmackillogue, 1518
Stage 10, Dereenderragh, 1711
Finish Ramp, Randles Garage (Muckross Road, Killarney), 1745