Applications from over 170 crews were received for the 130 available places on the starters' list for the Courtown Hotel Single Stage Rally, which will take place this Sunday near Coolgreaney, Co. Wexford. It is the first ever rally to be organised by the Garda Siochana Motor Club.

The GSMC-organised event is one of a number of extra Single Stage Rallies added to the calendar by Motorsport Ireland this year. The new events have been confined to drivers who have not finished in the top ten of any multi-stage rally in the past two years, using cars of up to 2-litre capacity.

Local driver, David James, is the number one seed in his G3 Escort. The South East is well represented throughout the entry, but there are crews all over the country getting ready to tackle the event.

The rally starts at the Courtown Hotel at 9.30a.m. on Sunday, 17th December. The stage is located approximately nine miles from the Rally Headquarters. The Single Stage is being organised by the Garda Siochana Motor Club in conjunction with the Wexford Motor Club. <pre> Top Ten Seeds 1. David James/Ron Guha, Ford Escort G3 2. Eamonn Murphy/TBA, Ford Escort RS 3. Terence Taggart/Bob Kelly, Ford Escort RS 4. David Percy/Owen Percy, Ford Escort RS 5. Gerard McGivney/TBA, Ford Escort RS 6. Thomas O'Rourke/Brendan O'Rourke, Opel Astra GSi 7. Brendan Brosnan/Jason O'Connor, Ford Escort RS 8. John Nolan/Don Manley, Ford Escort RS 9. Liam Wall/Thomas Kelly, Ford Escort 1600 10. Kieran O'Callaghan/TBA, Toyota Corolla 1600