On Saturday 23 August, the Zwartkops Raceway in Pretoria West hosts the seventh round of the 2003 South African Formula Vee National Series and what a race that promises to be. Also on the bill, are Regional Championship races for Thunder Cars, Formula GTi, VW Challenge and Formula M, supported by Club Championship races for the DK Porsche Challenge, 924 DK Porsche Challenge, Super Hatch and 250cc Karts, along with Invitation races for Sports Cars and a Le Mans Challenge. Racing gets underway at 11h00, with a twenty race program that should provide spectators with a varied package of non stop racing action, culminating in the 24 lap Le Mans Challenge, due to start at 17h30 and finishing shortly after sunset.

Heading the Formula Vee field, will be current Championship Points leader, David Veringa (#3 Sabat Rhema), while Alan Holm (#2 Johannesburg Bright Steels Rhema), will be looking to reduce David's lead and keep himself in the hunt for the title. Breathing down Alan's neck, is the 1999 National Formula Vee Champion Peter Hills (#8 Peter Hills Auto Clinic Sting). Hills is one of four ex Champions, in the Zwartkops field. The other three, being the 1997 and 1998 Champion, Anthony Taylor (#77 Rhema 2), the 2000 Champion, Dennis Johns (#12 Goldco Midas Odendaalsrust Rhema 2) and the 2001 Champion, Lee Thompson (#34 Rhema). Keeping them honest, will be Formula Vee veteran, Symm Grobler (#4 Auto Mecca Rhema 2 and Young Gun, Jody Robertson (#5 PS23 Lubrioil Rhema). There have already been five different race winners this year and anyone of these eight drivers, should be capable of claiming the victory, at Zwartkops.

Not far behind, a whole host of drivers will be battling it out, for the other three points scoring position, including the likes of Jaco Schriks (#6 Johannesburg Bright Steels Sting), Wayne Bennett (#10 Lafarge Reaymix Rhema 2), Jannie Geyser (#11 Vision), Ben Pienaar (#17 BJ Pro Welding Rhema), Claude Cartmell (#29 Rand Brake Sting), Kevin Cartmell (#30 Rand Brake Sting), development driver Benny Phetla (#19 Rhema), Tony Beecher (#15 Laser) Alan Kernick (#38 Tasman) and Nico Blignaut (#27 Rhema).

A number of new drivers, will also be making their National Formula Vee debuts at Zwartkops and these include, the current Vodacom Isondo Sports 2000 Champion Kearn Francis (#52 Rhema), development driver Dayview Mogane (#53 Alley), Simon Feldman (#90 Omega), Johan Botha (#43 Lagus) and Hugo Wallendorf (#83 Vision)

<pre> Current National Points Standings: 1 David Veringa 132 6 Jody Robertson 87 2 Alan Holm 110 7 Dennis Johns 62 3 Peter Hills 109 8 Anthony Taylor 44 4 Symm Grobler 102 9 Wayne Bennett 38 5 Ernest Viljoen 91 10 Jaco Schriks 34