Second Qualifying Wet; Renna Keeps Pole

SEBRING, Fla. (Mar. 14, from Rick Roso) - Tony Renna kept the pole position for Saturday's 30-minute Barber Dodge Pro Series round two at Sebring International Raceway as a heavy overnight rain left Sebring's 3.6 miles damp, though the last five minutes saw a decent dry line. Rocky Moran, Jr., was one of the few drivers that stayed out for the entire 20 minutes as he needed to check a new motor that was installed overnight, but all he could muster was a 2:11.687. Jarle Gasland, who will start fifth tomorrow, was next at 2:11.864 followed by Mattias Andersson. No one went faster than the times set in Thursday's first qualifying session. The poor track conditions left G.J. Mennen, second at St. Petersburg, and Andy Boss (third) with no hope of moving up the grid, as each were wide of the mark in the first session. This is Renna's second consecutive pole at Sebring; he noted yesterday that he had found a terrific setup right out of the trailer and "was very comfortable with the car." Last year, Renna got a poor start and had to work hard to garner a third place finish. Derek Hill, one of the two "Rookies of the Year" from 1996 (Renna is the other) will start second. He's been extremely busy throughout the week, as he is not only doing Barber Dodge, but is one of the frontrunners in both the GTS-3 class in the 12-Hour and today's five-hour Street Stock Endurance event.

Starting order for Saturday's 30-minute SCCA Pro Racing Barber Dodge Pro Series race at the 12 Hours of Sebring following final qualifying. Qualifying position, driver, hometown or country, lap time and average miles per hour around 3.6-mile, 17-turn road course. All cars identical Mondiale Barber Dodge V6 open-wheel, single-seat race cars.

FINAL GRID 1. Tony Renna, Deland, Fla., 2:08.160, 101.124 mph 2. Derek Hill, Santa Monica, Calif., 2:08.374, 100.955 3. Rino Mastronardi, Pistoia, Italy, 2:08.398, 100.936 4. Martin Stenshorne, Hokksund, Norway, 2:08.654, 100.735 5. Jarle Gasland, Haugesund, Norway, 2:08.845, 100.586 6. Nick Rondet, San Diego, Calif., 2:08.882, 100.557 7. Steven Rikert, Rhinebeck, N.Y., 2:09.062, 100.417 8. Will Langhorne, Washington, D.C., 2:09.112, 100.378 9. Chris Menninga, Pella, Iowa, 2:09.287, 100.242 10. Gustavo Pasetto, Sao Paulo, Brazil, 2:09.333, 100.206 11. Andy Boss, Narragansett, R.I., 2:09.348, 100.195 12. Rocky Moran, Jr., Coto de Caza, Calif., 2:09.517, 100.064 13. Mattias Andersson, Linkoping, Sweden, 2:09.570, 100.023 14. Scott Brunk, Frederick, Md., 2:10.034, 99.666 15. Nick O'Sullivan, Boulder, Colo., 2:10.099, 99.616 16. Victor Gonzalez, Hatoray, Puerto Rico, 2:10.229, 99.517 17. Jarrett Boon, Phoenix, Ariz., 2:10.294, 99.467 18. Andre Hansen, Fetsund, Norway, 2:10.356, 99.420 19. Eric Tresslar, Denver, Colo., 2:10.406, 99.382 20. Gian-Maria Regazzoni, Monte Carlo, Monaco, 2:10.438, 99.358 21. Bill Tichenor, Dallas, Texas, 2:10.629, 99.212 22. Charles Willis, Germantown, Tenn., 2:10.702, 99.157 23. G. J. Mennen, Jr., Austin, Texas, 2:10.744, 99.125 24. Denis Lay, Miami, Fla., 2:11.124, 98.838 25. Samer Hindi, Los Angeles, Calif., 2:11.146, 98.821 26. John McCaig, Victoria, B.C.,Canada, 2:11.335, 98.679 27. Matt Fowler, Ventura, Calif., 2:12.307, 97.954 28. Patsy DiFilippo, Apollo, Pa., 2:12.909, 97.510 29. Craig Sletten, McFarland, Wis., 2:13.167, 97.321 $$$