BARBER DODGE SEASON FINALE: FRIDAY QUALIFYING LAKEVILLE, Conn. (Oct. 11) - Bang. Bang. Bang. That was practice, qualifying one and qualifying two today for the Barber Dodge Pro Series finale at Lime Rock Park as part of the Dodge Dealers NASCAR 200 Busch Grand National North event. Within a span of 5 hours, 23 drivers took to Lime Rock's 1.53-miles-- without the chicane--for their three sessions. When it was all over, Derek Hill, son of road racing legend Phil, took his first Barber Dodge pole position, with a time of 50.684 seconds. That time shattered the eight-year- old qualifying record set by Tom Dolan. Second quick was Thomas Schie, whose only chance to wrest the championship from Fredrik Larsson is to win the race. His time was a :50.716. Rocky Moran, Jr., proved what he said earlier in the year that he "loves very fast tracks." Moran is gridded third thanks to a :50.720.

Larsson must finish 12th or better in order to clinch the 1996 championship, IF Schie wins. If Schie finishes second or lower, Larsson need not score any points at all.

Hill had been fastest in practice, but in first qualifying at 2:30 p.m., Larsson and Schie put up the exact same fastest laps (:50.914), the first time that has happened in the Pro Series in its 11-year history. It was that time that kept Larsson in the top five, as he could do no better than :51.116 in second qualifying.

Interesting footnote: The fathers of the three "F1 sons"--Hill, Jeff Bucknum and Philippe Siffert--competed together the last (and possibly only) time at Watkins Glen in 1964. Jo Siffert in a Brabham-BRM, Phil Hill in a Cooper and Ronnie Bucknum in the Honda RA272.

The following are the times for the top 10 for tomorrow's 30-minute Barber Dodge season finale.

1. Derek Hill :50.648/108.67mph 2. Thomas Schie :50.716/108.60 3. Rocky Moran, Jr. :50.720/108.59 4. Fredrik Larsson :50.914 5. Tony Renna :50.931 6. Geoff Boss :50.964 7. Tim Moser :51.017 8J eff Bucknum :51.288 9. Steve Rikert :51.295 10. Chris Menninga :51.383 11. Jon Fogarty :51.435 12. Philippe Siffert :51.712 13. Mark-Paul Gosselaar :51.925 14. Jarrett Boon :51.938 15. G.J. Mennen :51.956 16. Carlos Bonetti :52.361 17. Alfonso Ribeiro :52.599 18. Steve Sardelli :52.639 19. Sean Patrick Flanery :52.713 20. Steve Lorenzen :53.135 21. Patsy DiFilippo :53.244 22. Jerry Tack :53.898 23. Grant Show :53.964

/END Rick Roso