Livengood Wins Race, Carbone Clinches 2010 Title

Lexington, OH -- American rookie Chris Livengood got around pole-sitter and now 2010 F2000 Champion Victor Carbone on the opening lap and never looked back, taking his first F2000 victory by just under five seconds while Carbone brought home the 2010 F2000 Championship for Alegra Motorsports with a solid drive, holding on for fifth place. Remy Audette finished second in the Audette Racing #21 ahead of Cole Morgan, Fabio Orsolon and Carbone.

Livengood got the drop on Carbone when the green flag waved on the backstretch, taking the lead and controlling the pace, while setting the fastest lap of the race on the way to his first F2000 win.

"It's a dream, the car was just awesome," commented Livengood in victory circle. "I got a stellar start and then just hit my marks the rest of the race. It couldn't be possible without the crew and Work Racing."

Meanwhile, Carbone did everything he needed to clinch the Championship by driving a heads-up race, coming home in fifth. And while it wasn't the lights-out drive from pole he wanted, Carbone took the 2010 F2000 title for Alegra Motorsports with one race left.

"It feels amazing to be champion, and it's the result of a year of hard work from the Alegra guys," Carbone said. "In the race, I didn't get the start I needed and wanted to play it safe from there."

Remy Audette finished a solid second, nearly driving Chris Livengood down at one point before Livengood pulled out to a 4.7 second gap to win.

"The team has done a great job to improve the car all weekend," said Audette. "And after qualifying this morning I was really confident in the car and myself. I was able to get around Victor and then cut some of Livengood's lead down but about halfway through the engine started misfiring."

And while Cole Morgan drove from eighth to third, gaining points on Carbone, it wasn't enough of a difference to keep him alive in the title fight. The 2007 F2000 Champion Morgan will have to settle for second in the overall points race.

Morgan added: "I got a great start and the car was good for the opening part of the race. It felt like I was catching Audette and Livengood but then it started to go off. I saw the Alegra guys coming in my mirrors and just tried to drive mistake free the rest of the way."

Alegra Motorsports teammates Fabio Orsolon and Victor Carbone finished fourth and fifth on the banner day for the Miami-based squad in an all-green flag race.

Rob Nicholas was the fastest Masters Class driver, finishing sixth ahead of Phil Lombardi, who moved into a solid position to clinch the Masters Class title tomorrow as main rivals Tim Minor and Keith McCrone both suffered problems as Minor went off the track and McCrone suffered a flat tire on lap one after contact with Nicholas.

Dave Weitzenhof finished eighth ahead of Daniel Erickson, who recovered from an off-and-on that put him down to 13th, to finish ninth. Mark Defer rounded out the top ten at Mid-Ohio.

Tomorrow, Sunday, features a 9:00am qualifying session followed by an afternoon race to conclude the 2010 season.