DSTP releases Lacy for remainder of 1999 U.S. F2000 season

CHARDON, OHIO (June 17, 1999) - Dede Rogers, owner of DSTP Motorsports, today announced that Ian Lacy has been released from his contract to drive with the team for the remainder of the 1999 U.S. F2000 National Championship season. Bobby Oergel, in his second year with the DSTP organization, will continue as the team's primary race driver as well as expand his involvement in testing and development. "This was a very difficult decision for us to make," said Rogers. "Lately, we've been focusing our resources on developing the Mygale chassis as well as grooming Bobby for the next step. Unfortunately, it really hasn't left us with much time to devote to Ian, and it certainly hasn't been fair to him. Ian is a terrific young talent and this decision should in no way be interpreted that we are not appreciative of his efforts." Lacy, in his rookie U.S. F2000 season, captured a best finish of second place at Lowe's Motor Speedway and is currently ninth overall in the season points standings. Oergel has catapulted to third overall following a string of three consecutive podium finishes in the past three races, and recently captured Mygale's first-ever U.S. pole position at Lowe's Motor Speedway. Oergel, winner of last year's Oval Crown Championship Rookie-of-the-Year award, is considered to be one of America's leading kart racers. His championship-winning background includes three International Kart Federation (IKF) Grand National titles, the 1995 International Shifter Association Championship, 1995's U.S. Gearbox Championship, the World Karting Association's (WKA) Manufacturers' Cup, and five regional points championships. His 1998 U.S. F2000 record included two top fives and nine top tens en route to eighth overall in the series championship. He also was selected to attend the prestigious Team Kool Green Academy for America's most promising racing rising stars in 1997. Under the direction of Rogers, DSTP's unique role in racing is to identify promising young drivers with professional motorsports aspirations, provide them with the finest equipment and technical guidance, then refine their driving talent and corporate skills to succeed at the highest levels of the sport. DSTP's proven concept has brought several of today's leading drivers to the forefront of professional racing including current CART FedEx Championship/Dan Gurney's All American Racers driver Alex Barron (who raced for DSTP in 1996), as well as Lynx Racing's Kool/Toyota Atlantic ace Buddy Rice (DSTP - 1997). Recent Lynx Racing Atlantic graduate and newly-appointed Walker Racing Champ Car driver Memo Gidley also ran for DSTP in 1995, capturing three wins and three poles en route to second in the F2000 series championship as well as the Rookie-of-the-Year, Oval Crown Champion and Oval Rookie-of-the-Year titles. DSTP continues to enjoy a technical partnership with Lynx Racing's championship-winning Toyota Atlantic team. This relationship offers shared engineering and developmental resources from Lynx Racing and DSTP engineer Jim Griffith, as well as Lynx Racing team manager and DSTP team consultant Steve Cameron. Cameron also plays a pivotal role as DSTP's primary test driver and driver coach. Round 7 of the 14-race U.S. F2000 National Championship series is scheduled for July 17 at Atlanta Motor Speedway, part of the Pep Boys Indy Racing League Atlanta 500k weekend.