Expanded, Upgraded Schedule Set for 2006 Cooper Tires FF2000 Championship

-- Four of Seven Race Weekends Will Be Held in Support of the Champ Car World Series --

Palmetto, Fla. (February 17, 2006) -- Formula Motorsports, Inc. President Jon Baytos today announced an exciting schedule of seven race weekends that will comprise the 2006 Cooper Tires Formula Ford 2000 Championship.

Four of the events will be held in conjunction with the Champ Car World Series -- at Portland International Raceway, Ore.; Burke Lakefront Airport in Cleveland, Ohio; Exhibition Place in Toronto, Ont., Canada; and Road America in Elkhart Lake, Wis. Two weekends will support the American Le Mans Series -- at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in Lexington, Ohio, and Mosport International Raceway in Bowmanville, Ont., Canada -- while the season opener will take place alongside the massively popular Formula D drifting competition at Road Atlanta in Braselton, Ga. Each weekend will comprise a pair of 30-minute races.

"It's been a long time coming together, but I couldn't be happier with the way the 2006 Cooper Tires Formula Ford 2000 Championship is turning out," said Baytos. "We will visit four of the very best and most technically challenging race tracks in the country -- if not the world -- at Road Atlanta, Mid-Ohio, Road America and Mosport, and our drivers and teams will benefit from the additional variety provided by the permanent road course in Portland, the temporary airfield track in Cleveland and the city streets of Toronto.

"Formula Ford 2000 is the perfect step between the Rotax Max karting series and the Champ Car Atlantic Series Powered by Mazda," continued Baytos. "We've had a huge amount of interest from drivers all over the world, and being able to race alongside both Champ Car and Atlantic on four weekends is a great opportunity for our teams and drivers. The ALMS events at Mid-Ohio and Mosport will provide two more great weekends of racing, and the chance to show what our competitors can do in front of the Formula D drifters at Road Atlanta was too good to miss."

The Cooper Tires Formula Ford 2000 Championship is sanctioned by the Grand American Road Racing Association and represents one of the first rungs on the professional open-wheel auto racing ladder in North America. It features modern, purpose-built, single-seat race cars powered by either four-cylinder, double-overhead cam, fuel-injected 2.0-liter Ford Zetec engines, which produce around 160 hp, or the older, slightly less powerful, carbureted 2.0-liter Ford "Pinto" engines which will be vying for Cooper Gold Cup honors. All cars employ "slick" (treadless) Cooper Zeon racing tires and are capable of speeds in excess of 140 mph.

Formula Ford 2000 originated in England in 1974. Alumni include Formula 1 World Champions Ayrton Senna and Damon Hill; Champ Car World Series title-winners Jimmy Vasser and Paul Tracy; Indy Racing League Champion Sam Hornish Jr.; and the past two Indianapolis 500 winners Buddy Rice and Dan Wheldon.