Swanson Takes Points Lead in Formula Russell Championship Run-Offs Winner Sherman sets new lap record.

Sonoma, CA - Jury Swanson takes the lead with 67 points with a third and a win during round two in the USAC Formula Russell Championship. Tyler McQuarrie also had a win plus a second during the weekend which places him second in points with 59 ahead of Dave McEntee with 44 points. McEntee, a rookie in the championship, finished second in his Saturday race and fifth in his race on Sunday.

Brent Sherman, also a rookie and winner of the 1997 Russell Graduate Run-Offs Racing Scholarship took the lap record away from Steve Hill besting Hill's record by .674 seconds to establish a fast time of 1:39.262. He had his first podium finish with a third place finish on Sunday. Sherman beat 30 other drivers last December to win the coveted prize of an entire free season of racing in the competitive spec formula car class.

The Formula Russell series is a national championship sanctioned by USAC. Drivers run two sprint races each weekend starting in February and continuing until October. The best 15 races of 18 count towards the series prize of a free trip to England to comp ete in the Jim Russell World Scholarship in November. The World Scholarship awards a fully funded season in England competing in the Formula Vauxhall Series.

USAC Formula Russell Championship Round 2 of 9

1     Jury Swanson      67          6     Brent Sherman     38
2     Tyler McQuarrie   59          7     Pierre Ehret      35          
3     Dave McEntee      44          8     Pat McDowell      33
4     Kazuto Yagi       40          9     Ken Snyder        30
4     Fernando Ribeiro  40          9     Steve Hill        30