Trengove to start Fourth at Mallala.

South Australian F4000 driver Paul Trengove will begin the 2004 season from fourth on the grid in the first of tomorrow's two races, after a strong qualifying performance today.

Trengove lapped the 3.2km Mallala circuit in a time of 1m05.4728, after a competitive session that saw pole position fought out between Hocking Motorsport driver Rob Nguyen and Trengove's Ralt Australia teammate Neil McFayden.

The session was interrupted by a stricken car, which caused the red flag to be shown after 20 minutes of the session had been run. Oil left by Nguyen's Reynard earlier on meant that the track conditions were less than perfect when qualifying resumed.

"I am a bit disappointed with that because we were held up for a lot of the session," Said Trengove after qualifying. "And we had the oil on the track at the end so I couldn't push as hard as I would have liked."

Laying in fifth for most of the session, Paul managed to set his best time on his last flying lap, even with the oil on the track.

"I was pushing really hard, and turns one and two were pretty interesting," he said "but I am happy with my lap and I am looking forward to racing tomorrow."

Trengove is racing this weekend after a last minute phone call from Ralt Australia team boss Graham Watson Friday morning saw him get the seat alongside McFayden. Despite no pre season testing, and only one session yesterday, Trengove is still happy with his pace.

"When we looked at the data after qualifying I was just as quick as Neil for the entire lap -- it was only the oil at turn one and two which held me up." "I am confident that we can do well tomorrow."

The Deal with Ralt Australia is a one off for the Mallala round only, unless funding can be secured to complete the season.

The 11-car F4000 Holden Australian Drivers Championship field lines up for two, 16-lap races tomorrow at 12:05pm and 14:25PM respectively, with at least five drivers with a shot at outright victory.

Top 5 -- F4000 Qualifying.
1. Neil McFayden (Ralt Australia) 1m03.9717
2. Rob Nguyen (Hocking Motorsport) 1m04.2317
3. Ricky Occhipinti (Formula Uno Racing) 1m05.2275
4. Paul Trengove (Ralt Australia) 1m05.4728
5. Ty Hanger (Hanger Racing) 1m05.5636