CRANDON, Wisc. -- A year-end banquet honoring 2007 Lucas Oil World Series of Off-Road Racing (WSORR) racers, teams and sponsors will be held Saturday, November 10, 2007 in Green Bay.

The annual "Night of Champions" soiree at the KI Convention Center features racer awards in several categories, including Series Championships and cash in 11 classes. Off-road racers battled all summer long on tracks in Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri and Wisconsin to earn titles.

The banquet caps WSORR's inaugural season. With year-end points money, the Series paid out a record $835,000 to racers across all classes. Fans can watch the action unfold round by round on SPEED Channel beginning November 3. Each WSORR show -- 18 in all -- airs Saturday's at 3 P.M. (EST)

WSORR PRO racers winning off-road crowns include Chad Hord, Felch, Mich., (PRO Light Pickup, Boss Plows Nissan Frontier); Scott Taylor, Belvidere, Ill., (PRO 2WD, Skyjacker Ford F-150); and Johnny Greaves, Abrams, Wisc., (PRO 4x4 Monster FCP Toyota Tundra). Special championship cash will be awarded by Nissan to Hord. Toyota will award a cash prize to Greaves.

Other WSORR racers earning class championships include Ben Wandahsega, Bark River, Mich., (Super Truck, FCP Toyo Chevrolet); Scott Beauchamp, Bark River, Mich., (Stock Truck); Dave DeMaegd, Mishawaka, Ind., (Formula 4x4 SUV); Gary Nierop, Aldergrove, B.C., Canada (Super Buggy), who will also receive additional contingency from Toyota; John Fitzgerald, Omaha, Neb., (1600 Buggy); and Jamie Kleikamp, Wilson, Mich. (1600 Light Buggy). WSORR's entry level Grassroots division champs were Larry Manske, New Berlin, Wis., (Enduro) and Rob Weiland, Hortonville, Wisc., (Classix).

Also bestowed will be Rookie and Driver of the Year and OEM awards, and year-end contingency prizes. Included are $5,000 in 2007 year-end prize money from WSORR sponsor KC Hilites. Racers earning the KC Hilites funds are Beauchamp ($2,500), Fitzgerald ($1,500) and Wandahsega ($1,000).

MasterCraft Race Products and MSD Ignitions also sponsor year-end awards. Beauchamp again will receive both awards in the SRT division, while Taylor will accept the PRO division MSD Ignition year-end award.

WSORR "Cup" race champions will be recognized. Winner of the June FCP Chairman's Cup was Carl Renezeder, Newport Beach, Calif., (Lucas Oil BFG Nissan Titan 4x4). Winner of the new "Decision at Sundown" PRO Light Pickup Challenge Cup was Jeff Kincaid, Argonne, Wisc., (Forest County Potawatomi BFG Toyota Tacoma). Winner of the prestigious BorgWarner Challenge Cup was Greaves. Greaves joins 2007 Indy 500 champion Dario Franchitti as the two drivers receiving the most coveted and prestigious awards in closed course off-road and open wheel motorsports this year.

2007 "World Championship" rings will also be awarded to 12 racers. Featured entertainment at the banquet, exclusively for off-road racers and their sponsors, is Boogie & the YoYoz

Key sponsors for the Lucas Oil Off-Road World Series are Lucas Oil Products and Forest County Potawatomi. Nissan is the "Official Vehicle" of the Series while United Trailer serves as "Official Trailer". Additional sponsors include BorgWarner, Toyo Tires, KC Hilites, Skyjacker, ATX Wheels, Sunoco Race Fuels, and Kumho Tires. More information about the World Series is available at WSORR.com.

-credit: wsorr