"Ricky Johnson Wins 2009 FCP Chairman's Cup Clash"

CRANDON, Wis. - Ricky Johnson, driving his Red Bull Kumho Ford F-150, avoided a race full of on-track mayhem in the 16th running of the Forest County Potawatomi Chairman's Cup race at Crandon International Off-Road Raceway to take the win. It was an elated Johnson's first Chairman's Cup victory and only the second time it has been done in a two-wheel drive vehicle.

The Chairman's Cup race pits two-wheel drive versus 4x4 race trucks over Crandon's fast but punishing 1.5 mile track. Crandon Raceway, celebrating its 40th anniversary season, showcased a star-studded field of 17 of nation's top off-road racers.

At the drop of the green flag, Johnson managed to avoid a three-truck pileup. He then established the pace for the entire field chased by two- wheel contenders Mike Oberg in his Amsoil Kumho Superteam Chevy and 4x4 racers Kyle LeDuc in his Rockstar Energy Makita Ford, Rick Huseman in his Monster Energy Toyota, Scott Douglas in his Amsoil Kumho Superteam Ford, Johnny Greaves Monster Energy Potawatomi BFG Toyota and Curt LeDuc in the Rockstar Energy Makita Ford.

A number of spectacular crashes and collisions thinned the field taking out top contenders including Greaves, Huseman, and Douglas among others. The last hope for a 4x4 to catch the speedy Johnson was Kyle LeDuc whose race ended when he crashed in Crandon's notorious Calamity Corner.

Johnson seized the opportunity, drove around the numerous caution flags and led flag-to-flag to win by nearly four seconds over Oberg with former Chairman's Cup champion Curt LeDuc rounding out the podium. Johnson netted $13,500 dollars for a first place purse which included $3,500 in cash contingency from the Ford Truck Division. Johnson was also awarded a Miller Electric Welding system valued at $1,400. On hand to award the Forest County Potawotomi Chairman's Cup trophy was Tribal Chairman Phil Shopodock. Presenting the Ford Truck prize money was Brian Bell, marketing manager, Ford Raptor F150 SVT.

The next event at Crandon Raceway will be the annual BorgWarner World Championship Off-Road Races( on Labor Day weekend September 4-6th. The Traxxas TORC Series presented by Amsoil visits the "Big House" for what is expected to be a sellout crowd for its 40th anniversary race weekend. The weekend will feature live off-road racing on ABC television.

<pre> 2009 FCP Chairman's Cup Order of Finishers 1. Ricky Johnson PRO 2WD Trabuco Canyon, CA Ford 2. Mike Oberg PRO 2WD Eagle River, WI Chevy 3. Curt LeDuc PRO 4x4 Cherry Valley, CA Ford 4. Steve McCrossan PRO 4x4 Gormley, Ontario, Canada Ford 5. Greg Adler PRO 2WD Manhattan Beach, CA Ford 6. Rick Huseman PRO 4x4 Riverside, CA Toyota 7. Kyle LeDuc PRO 4x4 Cherry Valley, CA Ford 8. Scott Douglas PRO 4x4 El Cajon, CA Ford 9. Mark Jenkins PRO 2WD Fairview, TX Ford 10. Dan Baudoux PRO 2WD Hemlock, MI Ford 11. Mike Jenkins PRO 4x4 Fairview, TX Ford 12. Rob MacCachren PRO 2WD Las Vegas, NV Ford 13. Scott Taylor PRO 2WD Belvidere, IL Ford 14. Johnny Greaves PRO 4x4 Abrams, WI Toyota 15. Adrian Cenni PRO 4x4 New York, NY Chevy 16. Doug Fortin PRO 2WD El Cajon, CA Ford 17. Todd LeDuc PRO 2WD Cherry Valley, CA Ford

</pre> -credit: crandonoffroad.com