The Michelin Race of Champions brings together top names from all forms of world class motor sport in a single, relaxed yet competitive event, which is widely shown on International TV.

World Rally driver Michèle Mouton organised the first Race of Champions in 1988.

Marcus Gronhölm, Valentino Rossi, Troy Bayliss, Gilles Panizzi, Jesus Puras, Alister McRae, Harri Rovenperä, Fernando Alonso, Johnny Herbert, Franck Biela, Robby Gordon, Tom Kristensen, Olivier Jacque, Sébastien Loeb, Stig Blomqvist, Hannu Mikkola, Miki Biasion.

The Michelin Race of Champions focuses on the top names from all forms of motorsport where Michelin has a presence : World Rally Championship, GP500, track, endurance, Superbike and F1

The drivers compete on two parallel circuits.

The traditional highlight of the Michelin Race of Champions weekend is the bid of the World Rally Championship's leading stars to win the coveted Champion of Champions title. Last year saw Tommi Mäkinen defeat Marcus Gronhölm in a thrilling shoot-out. Marcus will certainly want his revenge this year. The weekend also plays host to the ROC Legends for drivers who have made their mark on the world of motorsport - this was won in 2000 by Stig Blomqvist! The ROC Nations Cup, which is a team event, takes place during the course of the weekend too. National teams comprising three people (a champion of speed, of rally and of motorcycling) go head-to-head. 9 nationalities were represented in 2000 and it was won by the French team (Gilles Panizzi, Regis Laconi, Yvan Muller).

The 2001 Race of Champions will take place 7-9 December in the Canary Islands.