VISTA, CA (November 14) -- On the heels of winninga second consecutive NHRA POWERade Top Fuel Championship in 2003 -- the sixth world championship overall for Don Prudhomme Racing -- team owner Don Prudhomme announced today that there will be no additions made to Snake Racing's roster of teams for the upcoming 2004 season.

When Don Prudhomme Racing begins its 42nd season of competition next spring, a familiar cast of veteran drivers including two-time NHRA Top Fuel Champion Larry Dixon, as well as Funny Car pilots Ron Capps and Tommy Johnson Jr., will be back in contention for the 2004 POWERade title.

While rumors have circulated in regard to the addition of a second Snake Racing Top Fuel team, Prudhomme has made the decision to halt discussions with potential sponsors in order to keep the organization focused on the improvement of its existing teams and the pursuit of a seventh NHRA POWERade championship.

"It's no secret that we have been working with driver Melanie Troxel, as I believe she has the talent and ability to be very successful both on the track and as a company spokesperson," said Prudhomme.

"However, at this point in time I do not feel that the addition of a fourth team would be in the best interest for our current teams, drivers and sponsors."

"While we have had several positive meetings with companies which recognize Melanie's unique talents, it is more important for us to concentrate on improving the performance of our Funny Cars, defending our Top Fuel championship, and doing the best job we can for Skoal Racing, Miller Brewing Company and all of our racing partners," said Prudhomme. "I believe strongly that Melanie will find a car to drive next season and I will enjoy watching her get that opportunity. Now is just not the right time for us to pursue any additions to our team, regardless of whom the driver or sponsor might be."

Two-time defending Top Fuel Champion Larry Dixon will return for his 10th season behind the wheel of Snake's Miller Lite Top Fuel dragster, which has been backed by Miller Brewing Company each season. Earlier this year, Miller Brewing extended its sponsorship agreement with Don Prudhomme Racing through the 2006 season.

In 2004, Ron Capps and Tommy Johnson Jr., will both climb back in the driver's seat for their eighth and fourth seasons respectively for Skoal Racing, while Skoal Racing has also signed with Don Prudhomme Racing through 2006.