GLENDORA, Calif. (Dec. 12, 2000) - The National Hot Rod Association has released its 2001 NHRA Federal-Mogul Drag Racing divisional schedule. In addition to the 44-race divisional schedule, the Federal-Mogul series will be featured at all NHRA national events, with 15 races scheduled to air on ESPN2 on a tape delay basis.

"The schedule we have finalized will provide the sportsman racer with ample opportunities to collect points towards a national championship," said Tom Compton, president of NHRA. "In addition, Federal-Mogul series racers at our national events will enjoy unprecedented television coverage, with a total of 15 racers to be aired on ESPN2."

Special efforts were made to assure that all 44 divisional races would not conflict with the national event schedule to make sure all sportsman racers in a particular region could compete in the televised national events. The Northeast and Pacific divisions will each feature seven divisional races, while the remaining five divisions will have six events each.

FMDRS competitions at national events in Pomona, Calif. (February and November), Gainesville, Fla., Houston, Las Vegas (April and November), Atlanta, Englishtown, N.J., Topeka, Kan., Columbus, Ohio, Sonoma, Calif., Indianapolis, Reading, Pa., Chicago (September) and Dallas will be showcased in stand alone television shows. Television schedule times and dates will be announced at a later date.

Headquartered in Glendora, Calif., the NHRA is the primary sanctioning body for the sport of drag racing in the United States. It presents 23 national events through its NHRA Winston Drag Racing Series. The NHRA has 85,000 racers and members nationwide and more than 135 member tracks. The NHRA-sanctioned sportsman and bracket racing series' provide competition opportunities for drivers of all levels. The NHRA develops the stars of tomorrow by offering the Federal-Mogul Drag Racing Series, NHRA Summit Racing Series and the Street Legal Program. The NHRA also offers the Castrol GTX Jr. Drag Racing League for youths ages 8 to 17.