Duncan Takes Center Stage with Back-to-Back Crowns in NASCAR Grand


LAS VEGAS, Nev. (Dec. 10, 2005) - Mike Duncan was presented with his second consecutive championship trophy - along with post-season awards representing more than $132,000 - during a special awards ceremony for the NASCAR Grand National Division, West Series at The Orleans Hotel in Las Vegas, Nev., on Saturday.

Duncan, who clinched the title by a 43-point margin in the final race of the season, joins an elite group of 10 drivers to garner back-to-back titles in the West's oldest stock car racing circuit.

The end-of-season awards pushed his team winnings for this year to $226,664. In addition to a $60,000 bonus, he will also receive $37,000 in team winnings from the NASCAR point fund. Duncan - who dominated qualifying for a second straight season - took home the Bud Pole Award, along with a check from Budweiser for $4,574. The 43-year-old Bakersfield, Calif., driver also received a special trophy and $3,000 from Goodyear.

In addition to the trophy for the driver's championship, Duncan was presented with the Champion Owner trophy. The Champion Sponsor Award was presented to the Special Events Manager for Lucas Oil, Greg Scheidecker, and the Champion Crew Chief Award went to Bill Sedgwick.

Indy 500 veteran Sarah Fisher of Indianapolis, Ind., received the Most Popular Driver Award - to go with her three Most Popular Driver Awards from the IndyCar Series.

Meanwhile, 18-year-old Andrew Lewis of Corona, Calif., took home the Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award - becoming the youngest driver in the 52-year history of the series to win the coveted rookie title. Another newcomer to the series - Andrew Myers of Huntington Beach, Calif. - received the Driver Achievement Award. The Sportsmanship Award went to long-time series veteran Jack Sellers of Sacramento, Calif.

The POWERade Power Move of the Race Award for 2005 was presented to Scott Lynch of Burley, Idaho - while the Featherlite Most Improved Driver Award went to Tim Woods III of Chino Hills, Calif.

This year's awards ceremony featured Dick Berggren, of NASCAR on Fox and executive editor of Speedway Illustrated magazine, as master of ceremonies.