Annual Awards Banquet caps off South Boston Speedway's 2004 season

SOUTH BOSTON, VA. -- A season of hard work was rewarded for a host of competitors Saturday night, Dec. 11, when South Boston Speedway hosted its annual Awards Banquet at the World of Sports Complex in South Boston.

Also included during the evening was the Third Annual Virginia Motorsports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.

In the Pepsi Late Model Stock Car Division, Timothy Peters secured the championship for the 2004 season. Eddie Johnson was the runner-up in the division, while Scott Worley placed third in the final points standings. Rounding out the top five in the division were Wayne Ramsey in fourth place and Peyton Sellers in the fifth slot.

Jonathan Bailey secured the points championship in the Barkhouser Limited Sportsman Division. The other top five drivers in the division for the season included Jonathan Cash in second, Justin Snow in third, Brian Cole in fourth and Tommy Peregoy in fifth.

Tommy Wooldridge was recognized as the points champion in the Applebee's Pure Stock Division. The runner-up in the division was Brad Matthews, while Billy Goble, Nick Igdalsky and Scott Phillips rounded out the top five competitors.

Female competitor Terri Williams claimed the Grand Stock Division championship. Troy Dowdy was second and was followed in the top five by Taylor Moore, Jack Milam and Wayne Wilson.

In the Rolling Thunder Modified Division ranks, Thomas Stinson secured the championship for the season.

The inductees into the Virginia Motorsports Hall of Fame were all legendary NASCAR car owners. The inductees included the Wood Brothers -- Glen and Leonard -- along with Junie Donlavey.

The Wood Brothers Racing Team was formed in 1953 and is one of the oldest, best-known and most successful teams in NASCAR racing.

As a car owner in his career, Donlavey has had more than 150 different drivers compete for him, including 65 drivers that ran in the former NASCAR Winston Cup Series.

South Boston Speedway officials also recognized the Pepsi Racing Kids Champions for the season. The youthful competition is also referred to as the Future Stock Car Champions. Winners included the following:

* 4-year-old Ashley Collins of Clover, Va.;

* 5-year-old Asa Thomas of Oxford, N.C.;

* 6-year-old Jasmine Vaughan of Scottsburg, Va.;

* 7-year-old Mikaela Cook of South Boston, Va.