SCOTTS VALLEY, Calif. It is a rare occasion that John Dillon, the 1990 NASCAR REB-CO Northwest Tour champion, can hook up his car hauler and go to a race on the same day of the event. Normally, it is an overnight trip and a stay in a hotel room. That all changes this weekend when Dillon heads down the highway from Boise to Twin Falls for the NAPA 150 at Magic Valley Speedway on September 20.

Dillon stormed onto the NASCAR REB-CO Northwest Tour in 1989 for his first full season of racing. That year Garrett Evans beat Dillon for the championship by a mere 24 points. The next year Dillon dominated the series to become the youngest NRNWT champion ever. Along the way he set some records that have yet to be beaten. In 1990, Dillon set the mark for most wins in a season at eight, most consecutive victories with four, and won the championship by 268 points (one shy of the current record). Dillon also is the only driver in series history to lap the field in a NRNWT race, accomplishing the feat at Portland Speedway in 1989.

After the 1990 season the team broke up. Dillon has run the occasional NRNWT race since that time and plans to run more races in the future. But for Dillon, the race he is most looking forward to is the NAPA 150. "It was 1990 the last time I drove a stock car in Idaho. We are going to have lots of family and friends at the race as well as business associates," said Dillon of the upcoming race.

"It is nice seeing a NASCAR race running in Idaho. Im not sure how Steve York (Magic Valley Speedway promoter) pulled it off, but its great," said Dillon. "We look forward to racing in front of our friends and I think the rest of the guys will enjoy it. The people over here are great hosts."

Qualifying starts at 6:30 p.m. with racing at 7:20 p.m.


With his next start, Kelly Tanner will surpass Dirk Stephens for fourth place on the career money leaders list. Ron Eaton, Garrett Evans and Tobey Butler head the list.

A quick scan of who has won the Busch Pole at the previous Idaho races looks like a Whos Who of NASCAR REB-CO Northwest Tour racing. Past pole winners include Ron Eaton (3), Chad Little (2), John Dillon (2), Garrett Evans (1), and Dirk Stephens (1). All of those drivers, with the exception of Little, have won a NRNWT championship. Little, of course, now drives the John Deere Pontiac on the Winston Cup circuit.

Mark's Unofficial NASCAR Northwest Tour Page http://www.aa.net/~cawsey/