Kobyluck Crowned NASCAR Camping World Series East Champion
Annual Awards Banquet Concludes 2008 Season

UNCASVILLE, Conn. (Dec. 12, 2008) -- The 2008 NASCAR Camping World Series East season drew to a close Friday night as Matt Kobyluck was crowned the series' champion at the annual postseason awards banquet at Mohegan Sun Resort.

Kobyluck, from Uncasville, earned his first career NASCAR Camping World Series East title on the strength of four wins and 12 top 10 finishes in 13 races. As driver and owner of the No. 40 Mohegan Sun Resort Chevrolet, Kobyluck's championship season included wins at Watkins Glen (N.Y.) International, Music City Motorplex in Nashville Tenn., Adirondack International Speedway in Beaver Falls N.Y., and Lime Rock Park in Lakeville, Conn.

"This has been a dream season for us, and one that has been a long time coming," Kobyluck said. "I always thought that winning races was the best feeling in the world. I was wrong. Winning a championship rates way above that because this is forever."

Kobyluck, who became the 13th driver to capture a NASCAR Camping World Series East crown since the series was established in 1987, is also the first Native American to win a NASCAR developmental series championship. He finished 210 points ahead of Austin Dillon in the championship standings and wrapped up his title at Dover (Del.) International Speedway with one race remaining on the schedule.

With his series-high four wins, Kobyluck also collected the season-long Happy Camper Award. He was also awarded the Goodyear Tire Award as well as the Champion Car Owner Award. Perry Waite, crew chief for Kobyluck's No. 40 Mohegan Sun Resort Chevrolet, picked up the Lunati Champion Crew Chief Award. Mohegan Sun was honored with the 2008 Champion Sponsor Award.

"This NASCAR Camping World East Series Championship is an incredible achievement and couldn't have been accomplished without a group of very talented people," Waite said. "I am very honored knowing the level of competition that our team was up against this past season. There was a lot of great racing and camaraderie."

Kobyluck's entire No. 40 Mohegan Sun Resort team was also bestowed the Sportsmanship Award.

In addition to the coronation of series champion Kobyluck, the top drivers and owners and special award winners from the NASCAR Camping World Series East were also honored.

Dillon, from Welcome, N.C., was recognized for his championship runner-up finish and was honored as the 2008 Sunoco Rookie of the Year. The 18-year-old Dillon, the grandson of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series car owner Richard Childress, was also the only driver to complete every lap (1907) this season.

"Having to follow a guy like Joey Logano was really tough, but it really makes you pick up your game," Dillon said. "We just had a great season all-in-all."

Jesus Hernandez of Fresno, Calif., was honored for finishing third in the final points standings, followed by fourth-place Trevor Bayne of Nashville, Tenn., and fifth-place Marc Davis of Mitchelville, Md.

Davis earned the season-long Aero Exhaust Lap Leader Award, given to the driver who earned the award the most times in 2008.

Eddie MacDonald, of Rowley, Mass., collected both the POWERade Power Move of the Race Award and the Featherlite Most Improved Driver Award. Peyton Sellers of Danville, Va., earned the Coors Light Pole Award.

Ricky Carmichael of Clearwater, Fla., took home the Most Popular Driver Award. For the first time, voting was done online through NASCAR.com and NASCARHomeTracks.com. More than 22,000 votes were cast for the NASCAR Camping World Series East Most Popular Driver Award.

Stub Fadden, legendary racer and former car owner, was awarded the Bunk Sampson Memorial Award. Fadden's grandson, two-time NASCAR Camping World Series East champion Mike Olsen, accepted on his behalf. Alisha Ziner and Stephanie Petfield were the recipients of the NASCAR Camping World Series East Women's Auxiliary Award while veteran driver Jeff Anton of Russell, Mass., received the Driver Achievement Award.

Friday's program also saw NASCAR Managing Director of Racing Operations George Silbermann introduce Kip Childress as the new NASCAR Camping World Series East Director. Childress will take over for Les Westerfield, who filled the position on an interim basis in 2008.

-credit: nascar