BUSCH: Daytona II: News of note, schedule

ON THE RIGHT TRACK * Michael Waltrip (No. 99 Terminator 3 Rise of the Machines Chevrolet) has run the most NASCAR Busch Series races at Daytona (16). ... Joe Nemechek and Mike McLaughlin should tie Dale Jarrett (15) for second on that list on ...


* Michael Waltrip (No. 99 Terminator 3 Rise of the Machines Chevrolet) has run the most NASCAR Busch Series races at Daytona (16). ... Joe Nemechek and Mike McLaughlin should tie Dale Jarrett (15) for second on that list on Friday night; each enters with 14 career series starts at Daytona.

* Jamie McMurray holds the best average finish (8.0) among active NASCAR Busch Series drivers with four or more starts at Daytona. He has finished fifth twice.

* Nemechek and Dale Earnhardt Jr. (No. 8 JR Motorsports Chevrolet), will each vie for their third NASCAR Busch Series win at Daytona, which would tie the second-place mark for victories (three) behind Dale Earnhardt. Earnhardt holds the record with seven NASCAR Busch Series wins at Daytona, including five in succession from 1990-94.

* Nemechek won from the pole at last July's NASCAR Busch Series race at Daytona International Speedway. It was the first victory from the pole by any NASCAR Busch Series driver at Daytona, spanning 46 races over 21 years beginning in 1982.


* Four of last year's top five drivers in the inaugural July NASCAR Busch Series race at Daytona are entered in Friday night's event -- defending champion Joe Nemechek, Greg Biffle (No. 7 Kleenex/Scott Products Chevrolet), (second), Jason Keller (fourth) and Jamie McMurray (fifth). ... Biffle, the 2002 NASCAR Busch Series champion, will attempt his second series start this year Friday night. ... As of Tuesday, five NASCAR Busch Series drivers will attempt to qualify for Saturday's NASCAR Winston Cup Pepsi 400 -- Mike Bliss (No. 80 Advair Chevrolet), Stacy Compton (No. 4 Kodak Pontiac), Kerry Earnhardt (No. 83 Super Hot Hot Tamales Chevrolet), Shane Hmiel (No. 43 Berry Burst Cheerios Dodge) and David Green (No. 60 Haas Automation Chevrolet). ... In addition to Nemechek, Biffle and McMurray, four other NASCAR Winston Cup drivers are entered in the Winn Dixie 250 -- Todd Bodine, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Mike Wallace (No. 4 GEICO Chevrolet) and Michael Waltrip. ... Keller's burnout following his win last week at Milwaukee was a special request for his son, Joe, who complained to his dad that he never did doughnuts after wins.


* "Racing at Daytona is always prestigious, but this is the only time we have superspeedway racing at night, which makes it even more special. I know it's exciting for the teams and I can only imagine what the fans experience. It has got to be very cool to watch from the stands." -- Scott Wimmer.

* "Right now it's more of a cool thing than a milestone to me. A lot of drivers have more starts than that, including some of the young guns. One-hundred starts means that you have started to establish yourself as a regular in the NASCAR Busch Series. But what is more important to me is the fact that we have been a factor in the previous 99 races. I didn't come to this series to just be one of the guys out there on Saturday. I want to be a factor in every race and I think I've been successful at that." -- Ron Hornaday, attempting his 100th career NASCAR Busch Series start Friday night.


* Starting up front at Daytona has its advantages, as 21 of 22 NASCAR Busch Series winners at the track started in positions 1 -- 14. However, one driver managed to do the improbable -- come from nearly dead-last to win at the World Center of Racing. Chad Little started 42nd in the 1995 season-opener, and managed to win. That starting position and end result still stand as a NASCAR Busch Series record.


What: Winn-Dixie 250 presented by PepsiCo (Race 18 of 34 in the NASCAR Busch Series).
Where: Daytona International Speedway, Daytona Beach, Fla.
When: 8 p.m. (ET), Friday, July 4.

Track layout: 2.5-mile high-banked asphalt tri-oval.
Race length: 100 laps/250 miles.

TV: TNT, 8 p.m. (ET).

Pre-race schedule (all times local): Thursday -- Practice, 8:30 -- 10:15 a.m.; Qualifying, 12:45 p.m.; Final Practice, 6:30 -- 7:30 p.m.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Dale Earnhardt , Dale Earnhardt Jr. , Dale Jarrett , Michael Waltrip , Jason Keller , Joe Nemechek , Greg Biffle , Mike Wallace , Stacy Compton , Ron Hornaday Jr. , Mike McLaughlin , Jamie McMurray , Chad Little , David Green , Kerry Earnhardt , Shane Hmiel , Scott Wimmer , Mike Bliss
Teams JR Motorsports