Fort Worth II: Steve Portenga qualifying notes

Portenga matches season-best with 16TH-place qualifying run in Texas. ROANOKE, Texas - For the third time this season and second time in three races, Steve Portenga has matched his season-best qualifying performance. Portenga earned the 16th ...

Portenga matches season-best with 16TH-place qualifying run in Texas.

ROANOKE, Texas - For the third time this season and second time in three races, Steve Portenga has matched his season-best qualifying performance. Portenga earned the 16th starting position in qualifying for the Chevy Silverado 350 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series race Thursday, September 12 at the Texas Motor Speedway. The race is Friday, September 13.

Portenga's fastest lap around the 1.5-mile oval was 31.126 seconds (173.488 miles per hour). Mike Bliss won the pole (30.051, 179.695).

Portenga backed the solid qualifying effort with a strong showing in final practice Thursday night. He was 16th-quick in that session, too.

"All in all, a good day for the Roto-Rooter Chevrolet," Portenga said. "We were pretty good right off the trailer. We stayed consistent all day. We're good in race trim. The truck feels stable out there and I think we can race with most of the guys."

The Chevy Silverado is slated to start at 9 p.m. EDT/6 p.m. PDT Friday, September 13. The race will be broadcast live on the radio affiliates of the Motor Racing Network. ESPN2 will tape delay the telecast of the race until 11:30 p.m. EDT/8:30 p.m. PDT.

-spr-

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Truck
Drivers Mike Bliss , Steve Portenga