Fontana: Steve Portenga Thursday notes

Few treats for Portenga in California Halloween practice session. FONTANA, Calif. - There were few treats in the offing for Steve Portenga as he drove the No. 39 Roto-Rooter Chevrolet in a NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series practice session at the ...

Few treats for Portenga in California Halloween practice session.

FONTANA, Calif. - There were few treats in the offing for Steve Portenga as he drove the No. 39 Roto-Rooter Chevrolet in a NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series practice session at the California Speedway Thursday, October 31.  Portenga posted the 28th-fastest time among 34 drivers participating in the session, which is in advance of the American Racing Wheels 200 at the track Saturday, November 2.

"This has been a bit of a disappointing day," Portenga said.  "We're making an engine change now, which we hope will help us the rest of the weekend.  Because of the change, we'll have to start in the back on Saturday regardless of where we qualify tomorrow.  That's a shame, because I think we can end up in the top-10 to 15 tomorrow."

Portenga's fastest lap of the day was 43.465 seconds (165.651 miles per hour) around the two-mile oval.  Jason Leffler ran the fastest lap of the day (41.327/174.220).

Qualifying for the American Racing Wheels 200 begins at 2:45 p.m. EST/11:45 a.m. PST Friday, November 2.  The race takes the green flag at 5 p.m. EST/2 p.m. PST the next day.

The race is slated for live broadcast on the radio affiliates of the Motor Racing Network (MRN).  ESPN plans tape-delayed coverage of the race at 5 p.m. EST/2 p.m. PST Sunday, November 3.

-spr-

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Truck
Drivers Jason Leffler , Steve Portenga