NASCAR Craftsman Truck Champion Honored in Orlando

ORLANDO, Fla. (Dec. 12, 2005) -- NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series champion Ted Musgrave (No. 1 Mopar Dodge) collected $364,643 in point fund awards along with special awards of $55,000 during Sunday's Champions Award ceremonies to bring his 2005 season total to $880,553.

Musgrave, the series' eighth different champion in 11 seasons, was honored along with Ultra Motorsports owner Jim Smith, crew chief Gene Nead and Dodge Motorsports, the team's 2005 sponsor.

Musgrave's career money total reached $3,772,884 to rank the veteran competitor third in all-time NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series winnings.

The champion's season winnings included Smith's share of the series' owner money, and special awards from Goodyear Tire & Rubber, Dodge, Mobil1 and Sunoco.

The championship was the first in more than three decades of competition for Musgrave, who celebrates his 50th birthday on Dec. 18. He is NASCAR's oldest national touring series champion.

"Since awards are all about numbers, how about 3,930?" said Musgrave in addressing his fellow competitors and members of the news media during festivities at the Portofino Bay Hotel on the grounds of Universal Orlando. "Any guesses? That's the number of days it took to finally win a championship.

"It doesn't count how many races, sleepless nights and people it took to accomplish this goal."

More than $1.8 million in point fund awards were distributed to the top 20 drivers in the final NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series point standings. Runnerup Dennis Setzer (No. 46 Chevrolet Z71 Silverado Chevrolet) received $179,447. Setzer finished in the No. 2 spot for the third consecutive season and won a personal season best of $780,312.

Todd Bodine (No. 30 Germain Motorsports Toyota) finished second in the season money won standings -- on the strength of a series-high five victories including the final three races -- to end the year with $805,908. With $1,023,238, Bodine is the 31st series driver to win more than a million dollars.