Busch Whacker Jamie McMurray won his third consecutive Busch race at The North Carolina Motor Speedway.

McMurray, driving the James Finch owned Dodge started eighth and worked his way up front battling Jeremy Mayfield, and rookie David Stremme for the point.

McMurray made fast work of his competition, taking the lead for the final time on lap one twenty-two, never looking back to claim his second win of the season.

"I cannot believe that we have won thee races here in a row, said McMurray. John made a really good call with us short pitting to get us back out there in the front, it was really a team effort."

Finishing behind McMurray were New Jersey's Martin Truex Jr, Bobby Hamilton Jr, Jeremy Mayfield, and David Stremme.

Truex, driving for Dale Jr's Chance Two Motorsports scored his career best Busch series finish.

" It took us ten or fifteen laps to get going. Said Truex. "In the end we were the fastest cars on the racetrack. I am real happy to bring the number eight car home second"

Chance Two has fielded its number eight entry for several experienced veterans such as Dale Jr, Hank Parker Jr, Steve Park, and Tony Stewart. Truex's second place finish is the best finish for the team other that the three wins Dale Jr has scored since its debut in September of 2002.

The battle for the series championship continues to remain undecided as the top three points leaders are separated by thirty-nine points headed in to the final race of the season.

Scott Riggs, who led the championship chase heading into Rockingham found the wall on lap one sixty-two, scoring his first DNF of the season.

The crash regulated Riggs to a thirty eight-place finish, and dropped him to fifth in the standings, eighty-nine points out, with one race remaining.

Leaving The Rock, Brian Vickers once again has taken the points lead, twenty one markers over the 1994 Champion David Green, closely followed by Ron Hornaday, Jason Keller, Scott Riggs, and Bobby Hamilton Jr.

Next week, the series heads to the newly reconfigured 1.5 mile Homestead Miami Speedway for the final race of the season.

Mathematically, any one of the top six drivers in the standings can leave the season finale crowned Champion.

A fitting ending to one of the closest points battles in the series history.

-thomas chemris