In New York today, Terry Bradshaw and Armando Fitz announced the formation of a new team in the Busch series -- FitzBradshaw Racing. They also signed Kerry Earnhardt as the driver.

Armando Fitz was the sole owner of the No. 11 Chevrolet Channellock team driven by Todd Bodine in 2001. The team finished 29th in the standings.

The new team will run a Chevrolet and the car number will be 8 -- the same number that Dale Earnhardt, Jr. runs in the Winston Cup.

Terry Bradshaw is of course, the NFL Hall of Fame former quarterback of the Pittsburgh Steelers. Currently, Bradshaw is a Fox Sports broadcaster.

"I love the sport and want to be a part of it," said Bradshaw on his first venture into NASCAR racing.

Kerry Earnhardt competed in five races of the ARCA series this year where he had his first win on a superspeedway at Michigan International Speedway in June. Earnhardt had two other wins in the series. Earnhardt also drove in three Busch series races this year with a best finish of 20th at Kentucky.

"Racing is what I do, racing is what people in my family do. I am grateful for the opportunity," said Earnhardt.

A national chain of hair salons, Supercuts, will be the primary sponsor.

Dale Earnhardt Incorporated (DEI) will assist with engineering and engine support. The team's operation will remain at the Fitz facility.

No announcement has been made on the fate of the former #11 car or the driver, Todd Bodine.