BUSCH: Biffle honored as Champion

Roush Racing's Greg Biffle was the toast of the evening as he was awarded his 2002 NASCAR Busch Series championship trophy last Friday evening in Florida. In receiving his year-end payout, Biffle became the first champion to score more then a million dollars. His 2002 championship check totaled $1,016,244.

Champion Greg Biffle and car owner Jack Roush pose for photos prior to banquet ceremonies.
Photo by Autostock.

Biffle and his 60 Grainger Ford team scored two poles, four victories, 19-top five finishes and 24 top 10s. The added race winnings and Bud Pole Award for having the most poles upped his season earning to $1,275,410.

The 2000 Craftsman Truck Series champion joined the Busch Series in 2001 and grabbed the Raybestos Rookie of the Year honors. This year, the nod was given to ppc driver Scott Riggs.

Riggs knocked out a 10th place points run while grabbing two wins, two poles, eight top-fives and 13 top-10 finishes. His total payout on the year for his tenth place point finish, $149,896.

Also honored at the season-ending banquet, the remainder of the top-10 in the final standings. Jason Keller, who finished second in his 57 Ford filled his pockets with $508,122. Bill Davis Racing's Scott Wimmer earned $431,903 for his third place run and Mike McLaughlin won $381,091 for his fourth place effort. Jack Sprague wrapped up the top five in the standings with $330,279.

Jamie McMurray finished sixth, $279,467, with Kenny Wallace in seventh grabbing $228,655. Bobby Hamilton Jr. earned $190,545 for his eighth place run. And Stacy Compton garnered $165,139 for finishing ninth in the season standings.

In 2003, Biffle and his Randy Goss led crew will be making the jump full-time to Winston Cup. If Biffle were to grab the title in that division as well, he would become the first driver to win the championship in all three of NASCAR's premier series.