2006 NASCAR Busch Series Champion Kevin Harvick to Collect Over $2.8 Million in Season-Ending Payout
Champion's winnings are second-highest all-time

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Dec. 8, 2006) -- Kevin Harvick, the 2006 NASCAR Busch Series driver champion, will receive a payout of $2,850,864, an amount that is second-highest all time among series titlists. Harvick collected over $1.3 million in race winnings ($1,345,380) as well as his share of the series point fund ($1,471,984).

The series' $7.8 million point fund includes a record $4.1 million contribution from series sponsor Anheuser-Busch. Anheuser-Busch's commitment to the NASCAR Busch Series will increase again for the 2007 season with a point fund worth $4.5 million.

The 2006 season is the 25th anniversary of the NASCAR Busch Series' association with Anheuser-Busch and the payouts have shown astounding growth over that time. The first series champion, Jack Ingram, earned just over $122,000 in 1982.

In 166 career NASCAR Busch Series starts, Harvick has totaled $8,611,423, an amount that is third all-time behind Jason Keller ($10,843,511) and David Green ($8,901,290).

Additionally, the two-time champion -- he also claimed the series crown in 2001 -- earned $33,500 in contingency awards, including the Clevite Engine Builder Award ($20,000) and the Sunoco Diamond Performance Award ($13,500).

Harvick is joined by 14 other NASCAR Busch Series drivers who won more than $1 million this season, including series regulars Paul Menard ($1,723,218), Johnny Sauter ($1,561,164), Kenny Wallace ($1,122,350), Jason Leffler ($1,182,579), John Andretti ($1,113,596), Jon Wood ($1,025,040), Stacy Compton ($1,005,566) and Ashton Lewis Jr. ($1,005,295).

Menard totaled the most contingency award money, earning $55,000 by claiming the Featherlite Most Improved Driver of the Year Award ($20,000), the WIX Filters Lap Leader Award ($20,000), the Bank of America Card Services Award ($10,000) and the Goody's Headache Award ($5,000).

-credit: nascar