ORLANDO, Fla. (Nov. 22, 2002) -- Greg Biffle was honored as the 2002 NASCAR Busch Series champion Friday night at the season-ending series awards ceremony, held at the Portofino Bay Hotel. He also was rewarded, with a record point-fund first-place payoff of $1,016,244, the first time the champion's point-fund share has exceeded $1 million.

Biffle, driver of the Jack Roush-owned No. 60 Grainger Ford, also is a former NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series champion. Next season he will move to the NASCAR Winston Cup Series and start a quest to become the first driver to win championships in all three of NASCAR's national series.

Biffle won four races this season, tying two others for the second-best victory total in the series. He also had a series-leading five Bud Poles. Biffle's race winnings this season totaled $1,275,410.

In addition to Biffle, the rest of the top 10 drivers in the final 2002 NASCAR Busch Series standings were honored Friday night, receiving their shares of the series' point fund which includes a $2.5 million contribution from series sponsor Anheuser-Busch.

The point-fund rundown for the rest of the NASCAR Busch Series top 10 follows:

Jason Keller (No. 57 Albertsons Ford) $508,122; Scott Wimmer (No. 23 Bill Davis Racing Pontiac) $431,903; Mike McLaughlin (No. 19 MBNA Pontiac) $381,091; Jack Sprague (No. 24 NetZero Chevrolet) $330,279; Jamie McMurray (No. 27 Williams TravelCenters Chevrolet) $279,467; Kenny Wallace (No. 48 Stacker2/Goulds Pumps Chevrolet) $228,655; Bobby Hamilton Jr. (No. 25 U.S. Marine Corps Ford) $190,545; Stacy Compton (No. 59 Kingsford/Johnsonville Chevrolet) $165,139; Scott Riggs (No. 10 Nestle Nesquik Ford) $149,896.

Riggs also was honored as the 2002 Raybestos Rookie of the Year.