CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- Success in NASCAR Winston Cup Series racing is derived from mixing the finest elements into a winning combination. This season, Texaco/Havoline, Robert Yates Racing and Ricky Rudd team up to create just that formula for a run at the 2000 NASCAR Winston Cup Series Championship. Rudd will steer the famous No. 28 Texaco/Havoline Ford Taurus in the 34-race schedule beginning on Feb. 20 at the 42nd Annual Daytona 500. The combination brings together three of the great success stories in NASCAR racing. "I'm looking forward to working with Robert Yates," said Rudd, 43, a native of Chesapeake, Va. "He is one of the most successful engine builders and car owners in NASCAR's history and has a championship team. Together, we'll work toward bringing the Texaco/Havoline car to the winners circle again and again." Robert Yates has owned the No. 28 car since 1987 and formed the second team for Dale Jarrett in 1998. In his 13 seasons as a team owner, he has accumulated 44 wins and most recently the NASCAR Winston Cup Series Championship in 1999. In his 493 Winston Cup Series races, Yates cars have finished in the top 10 an amazing 250 times, or 51 per cent. "Hiring Ricky was a no-brainer," said Yates. "Ricky's experience and performance in NASCAR have made him one of the most successful drivers on the Winston Cup circuit. He loves every type of race track and his knowledge and proven track record will provide a considerable contribution to our team's efforts in making the No. 28 car successful." Rudd, a mainstay in NASCAR's premier series, has 20 career NASCAR Winston Cup victories. Rudd set a modern-era record with wins in 16 consecutive seasons from 1983 through 1998. Even more impressive is that he has scored wins at 12 of the 20 tracks the NASCAR Winston Cup Series will visit this season. "Robert's operation has always been at the top of any driver's list," said Rudd. "The opportunity to drive for Robert and the history that goes with the Texaco/Havoline car, there probably isn't a driver in the garage area who doesn't envy my position." Texaco has been involved in motorsports since 1917 when a two-man team using Texaco products drove a Maxwell touring car from Newark, N.J., to Los Angeles in 10 days and 16 hours - quite a feat in those days. Since then, Texaco has been associated with some legendary names in auto racing, including Mario Andretti, Davey Allison, Tom Sneva, Emerson Fittipaldi, Ernie Irvan, and now Ricky Rudd. The winning combination of Texaco/Havoline, Robert Yates Racing and Ricky Rudd will make its debut at the Daytona (Fla.) International Speedway this February.