Media Members Almost Perfect, In Predicting 2008 Chase Field

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Nov. 19, 2008) -- The media proved it did its homework prior to the 2008 NASCAR Sprint Cup season, correctly predicting 11 of the 12 drivers who qualified for the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup. The only Chase participant the media left out was Greg Biffle (No. 16 3M Ford), who was predicted to finish 15th.

Jimmie Johnson (No. 48 Lowe's Chevrolet), who wrapped up his third consecutive title on Sunday, was predicted to finish second behind his owner and teammate, Jeff Gordon (No. 24 DuPont Chevrolet). Gordon came up short in his bid for a fifth series championship, finishing seventh in the standings.

Kyle Busch (No. 18 M&M's Toyota), the top seed to start the Chase, and Carl Edwards (No. 99 Office Depot Ford), who led all drivers with nine wins, were selected sixth and seventh, respectively, in the preseason.

The biggest surprise came from second-year driver David Ragan (No. 6 AAA Ford) who finished 20 positions better than the media predicted he would. Ragan finished the season 13th after the media predicted he would be 33rd.

<pre> 2008 Media Predictions 2008 Results 1) Jeff Gordon 1) Jimmie Johnson 2) Jimmie Johnson 2) Carl Edwards 3) Tony Stewart 3) Greg Biffle 4) Dale Earnhardt Jr. 4) Kevin Harvick 5) Matt Kenseth 5) Clint Bowyer 6) Kyle Busch 6) Jeff Burton 7) Carl Edwards 7) Jeff Gordon 8) Kurt Busch 8) Denny Hamlin 9) Kevin Harvick 9) Tony Stewart 10) Denny Hamlin 10) Kyle Busch 11) Clint Bowyer 11) Matt Kenseth 12) Jeff Burton 12) Dale Earnhardt Jr. </pre> -credit: nascar

©2007 NASCAR | All Rights Reserved | Terms Of Use