Thanks to:

MotorSports PhotoSource OnLine News Service


------------------------------------------------- Staff Report -------------------------------------------------

ROCKINGHAM, N.C. (MSPS) - Heavy rains in the area have forced NASCAR Winston Cup officials to postponed Sunday's scheduled ACDelco 400 until Monday morning.

The race will begin at 10 am EST, weather permitting, and will still be televised live by TNN: The Nashville Network.

Bobby Labonte put his Interstate Batteries Pontiac on the pole during Friday's qualifications with a speed of 156.696 mph. Sharing the front row with him is Dale Jarrett, one of three drivers still battling for the series championship.

Jarrett toured the North Carolina Motor Speedway oval at 156.522 mph in the Quality Care Ford.

Mark Martin, currently second in the points chase, will start third, also in a Ford, with a run of 156.308. He will start alongside Ward Burton's MBNA Pontiac in fourth.

Kyle Petty gave Pontiac three cars in the top five starting slots in the Hot Wheels machine. The Chevrolet of Jeff Gordon, leader in the championship battle, qualified sixth.

The top ten starters for Monday's rain-delayed ACDelco 400 are:

1. Bobby Labonte 156.696 mph 2. Dale Jarrett 156.522 3. Mark Martin 156.308 4. Ward Burton 155.802 5. Kyle Petty 155.538 6. Jeff Gordon 155.524 7. Geoff Bodine 155.518 8. Bill Elliott 155.478 9. Ricky Craven 155.458 10. Mike Skinner 155.445 VISIT OUR WEB SITE

Please be sure to stop in at the MotorSports PhotoSource OnLine web site and check out the frequent updates that we make. Your visits are important to the success of this newsletter/news service. Visit us at:



A critical part of producing a newsletter/news service such as this is the input provided by our readership. We value your comments regarding our service and welcome you to submit them to us. Please let us know what you think by e-mailing us at


To un-subscribe to the MotorSports PhotoSource OnLine News Service simply reply to this newsletter with your request. Or, e-mail MotorSports PhotoSource OnLine at

Copyright 1997 MotorSports PhotoSource. All Rights Reserved.