Jimmie Johnson Adds His Name To List Of Legends; Three Consecutive Championships Put Johnson Among The Greats

HOMESTEAD, Fla. (Nov. 16, 2008) -- In becoming only the second driver to win three consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championships, Jimmie Johnson joins an exclusive list of sports legends.

Cale Yarborough is the only other driver to win three NASCAR Sprint Cup championships in a row (1976-78).

The New York Yankees were the last Major League Baseball team to win three straight, from 1998-2000. The Los Angeles Lakers were the most recent NBA team to do it, from 2000-02. The last NFL team to win three consecutive championships was the Green Bay Packers (1965-67).

Like other championship-winning greats, Johnson once again thrived in playoff pressure. During this season's 10-race Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup, Johnson had three wins, six top fives, eight top 10s, an average finish of 5.7 and a Driver Rating of 116.2.

His season statistics are likewise strong. In 2008, Johnson had seven wins, 15 top fives, 22 top 10s, an average finish of 10.5 and a Driver Rating of 107.3. He also had a career-high six poles.

Johnson becomes the eighth driver to win three or more championships.

-credit: nascar