Stewart's Crew Wins Pit Crew Challenge at Daytona

Tony Stewart's over-the-wall crew picked up the Checkers®/Rally's® Double Drive-Thru Challenge win Saturday night at Daytona International Speedway, helping lift the team to its second consecutive victory in the summer classic at the 2.5-mile tri-oval.

This is the third pit crew challenge win of the season for the No. 20 team, which now owns second place in the season-long standings. They also took the honors at Atlanta Motor Speedway and Bristol Motor Speedway in March. Jimmie Johnson's crew is in the lead with four victories.

"I've never worked with a group of guys that were more dedicated to what they do and why they do it," said Stewart. "That's what makes nights like this that much more impressive. This is not a race where a driver can go out and just win it. You have to have a fast car -- one that's prepared well -- and you have to have a crew that gets you in and out of the pits consistently fast all night. We had it all working for us tonight. It was a total team effort."

The No. 20 over-the-wall crew consists of: Jason Lee (jackman), Tom Dean (front-tire carrier), Ira-Jo Hussey (front-tire changer), Jody Fortson (rear-tire carrier), Todd Foster (rear-tire changer), Jeff Patterson (gasman), Brian Larson (catch can) and Scott Geerts (windshield). The team's crew chief is Greg Zipadelli and the pit stop coordinator is Paul Alepa.

Stewart's Home Depot Chevrolet spent 205.081 seconds on pit road. The crew will be awarded the weekly $10,500 prize and an additional $105,000 will be presented to the pit crew with the most wins at the completion of the 36- race schedule.

The Checkers/Rally's Double Drive-Thru Challenge is in its second season with the Nextel Cup Series.

2006 Nextel Cup Winners Checkers/Rally's Double Drive-Thru Challenge
Daytona (2/19) Jimmie Johnson Team
California (2/26) Jimmie Johnson Team
Las Vegas (3/12) Kyle Busch Team
Atlanta (3/20) Tony Stewart Team
Bristol (3/26) Tony Stewart Team
Martinsville (4/2) Elliott Sadler Team
Texas (4/9) Denny Hamlin Team
Phoenix (4/23) Clint Bowyer Team
Talladega (5/1) Elliott Sadler Team
Richmond (5/6) Kevin Harvick Team
Darlington (5/13) Kyle Busch Team
Charlotte (5/28) Jimmie Johnson Team
Dover (6/4) Jeff Burton Team
Pocono (6/11) Kurt Busch Team
Michigan (6/18) Brian Vickers Team
Infineon (6/25) Jimmie Johnson Team
Daytona (7/1) Tony Stewart Team

Busch Series Result - Daytona
The Checkers/Rally's Double Drive-Thru winner for Friday night's NASCAR Busch Series race at Daytona International Speedway was John Andretti's No. 10 crew, which spent 185.298 seconds on pit road.

NASCAR Truck Series Result - Kansas
The Checkers/Rally's Double Drive-Thru winner for Saturday's NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series race at Kansas Speedway was Rick Crawford's No. 14 crew, which spent 271.202 seconds on pit road.