The Earnhardt cars will be two of the cars that fans will be focusing in on at the Budweiser Shootout. WHAT:
Besides a slight title modification, the "Budweiser Shootout" holds a great deal in store for race fans. Since 1979, the non-points event (formerly named the "Busch Clash" and "Bud Shootout") has jump-started the NASCAR Winston Cup Series as the season-opening race at the "World Center of Racing" one week before the Daytona 500.

The former 25-lap sprint among the winners of the "Bud Pole Award" from the most recent season has been re-formatted to 70 laps and now includes past champions from prior "Busch Clash" and "Bud Shootout" events. Previously, Bud Pole second-round-fastest qualifiers from all points races were eligible to race for one slot in the Budweiser Shootout; in 2001, there will be no qualifying race, and one driver will be randomly selected from a pool of eligible second-round-fastest drivers to compete in the event. Additionally, Fox Television will broadcast the event in a two-hour time block as part of the new NASCAR television package.

Daytona International Speedway, Daytona Beach, Fla.

Sunday, February 11, 2001, 2 p.m. - 4 p.m. EST

2000 "Bud Pole Award" winners automatically in the field for the 2001 Budweiser Shootout include: Jeff Burton (1 pole), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2), Jeff Gordon (3), 2000 Bud Shootout winner Dale Jarrett (3), 2000 NASCAR Winston Cup points champion Bobby Labonte (2), Terry Labonte (1), Jeremy Mayfield (4), Joe Nemechek (1), Steve Park (2), Ricky Rudd (2), Mike Skinner (1), Tony Stewart (2) and Rusty Wallace (9).

Eligible past champions of the "Busch Clash" and "Bud Shootout" are: Geoffrey Bodine, Dale Earnhardt, Bill Elliott, Mark Martin and Ken Schrader.

Earnhardt Jr., driver of the No. 8 Budweiser team, will square off against Earnhardt, a seven-time NASCAR Winston Cup Series champion, and other top racers in the event. This will mark the first time the Earnhardts have competed together in a "Budweiser Shootout."

The Budweiser Shootout is sponsored by Budweiser, the world's best-selling beer. Budweiser, the "Official Beer of NASCAR," is brewed by Anheuser-Busch, Inc., the world's largest brewer.