2008 "Stewie Awards" nominees announced

TONY STEWART AND SIRIUS RADIO ANNOUNCE NOMINEES FOR SECOND ANNUAL 'STEWIE AWARDS' Presentation of "The Stewies" will take place in a live broadcast during 2008 NASCAR Champions Week Fans around the country cast their votes to decide award ...


Presentation of "The Stewies" will take place in a live broadcast during 2008 NASCAR Champions Week
Fans around the country cast their votes to decide award winners

NEW YORK -- November 24, 2008 - SIRIUS XM Radio (NASDAQ: SIRI), the Official Satellite Radio Partner of NASCAR, and two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion Tony Stewart, announced today the nominees for the second annual 'Stewie Awards,' honoring the best, boldest and funniest moments of the 2008 NASCAR season.

The 'Stewies' will be awarded during a special broadcast of Tony Stewart Live, the weekly talk show hosted by Stewart and Matt Yocum, at SIRIUS XM Radio's New York City studios on Thursday, December 4 (6:00 -- 8:00 pm ET) during 2008 NASCAR Champions Week. The live broadcast will air nationwide on SIRIUS NASCAR Radio, available on SIRIUS channel 128 and on XM channel 128 with the "Best of SIRIUS" programming package.

"After seeing the tears of joy stream down Kevin Harvick's face after handing him his 'Stewie' for 'Best Original Drama' last year we knew that, while it would be tough to top last year's event, the show must go on," said Stewart."So we're excited to be back for year two to celebrate all the great people and performances from the 2008 season. It'll be a great way to cap off the season and we'll have a lot of fun with our guests and our listeners on SIRIUS and XM."

The 2008 Stewie Award winners will be determined by fans around the country who cast their votes online at www.sirius.com/stewieawards.

"Once again the fans, who are such a big part of Tony Stewart Live throughout the year, can get involved by voting in the award winners," said Stewart. "And so, without further ado, the nominees for the 2008 Stewie Awards are..."

Golden Stewie Award -- Honoring a driver from the Golden Era of racing (1960-85)

Lifetime Achievement Award

Best Original Drama -- For year's most dramatic moment or sequence

* Ryan Newman wins the 50th Daytona 500 (Feb. 17)

* Dale Earnhardt, Jr. wins the Budweiser Shootout for first victory with Hendrick Motorsports (Feb. 9)

* Tony Stewart announces departure from Joe Gibbs Racing to become a driver/owner with Stewart-Haas Racing (Jul. 9)

* Kyle Busch wins 8 races, including 4 in a row, but finishes 10th in final Chase standings

Best Stunt Sequence (Hal Needham Award) -- For year's most spectacular crash

* Michael McDowell's tumbling crash during qualifying at Texas Motor Speedway (Apr. 4)

* Jeff Gordon hits inner wall at Las Vegas Motor Speedway (Mar. 2)

* "The Big One" during the AMP Energy 500 at Talladega (Ala.) Superspeedway involves 11 cars and collects 6 Chase drivers (Oct. 5)

* Brian Vickers' wheel comes off during Coca-Cola 600 (May 25)

* Juan Pablo Montoya triggers multi-car wreck at Phoenix International Raceway that ends with David Gilliland's car resting atop Scott Speed's car (Nov. 9)

Best Original Comedy -- For year's most entertaining "incident" or occurrence

* Kenny Wallace falsely announces plans for his brother Rusty to come out of retirement

* Goodyear tire controversy at Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Jul. 27)

* The "Yellow Line Debate" after controversial finish at Talladega (Oct. 5)

* David Starr takes on Germain Racing in melee on pit road at New Hampshire Motor Speedway (Sep. 13)

Best Engineering and Special Effects (Smokey Yunick Award) -- For year's most creative -- and ultimately illegal -- modifications to a race car

* Carl Edwards and #99 team get caught without oil can lid attached at Las Vegas Motor Speedway (Mar. 2)

* Joe Gibbs Racing cars get caught with magnets behind accelerator at Michigan International Speedway (Aug. 17)

* Juan Pablo Montoya and #42 team are penalized for illegal shocks after winning pole at Kansas Speedway (Sep. 28)

* Brian Vickers and #83 team are penalized for too thin sheet metal at Martinsville (Va.) Speedway (Oct. 19)

Bonehead Move of the Year

* Carl Edwards pushes Kevin Harvick in Lowe's Motor Speedway garage while discussing Harvick's "pansy" comment after Talledega race (Oct. 9)

* Michael Waltrip Racing allegedly steals sway bar from Roush-Fenway Racing

* City of Concord, N.C. flip-flops on their stand against a drag strip after SMI Chairman Bruton Smith threatens to move Lowe's Motor Speedway to another city.

'I Got Dumped' Award -- For year's most memorable on- or off-track bumping

* Kyle Busch vs. Dale Earnhardt, Jr. at Richmond (Va.) International Raceway: On May 3; Kyle takes out Dale Jr.; On Sep. 6 Dale Jr. overdrives a corner and gets into Kyle

* After a great season, David Ragan narrowly misses Chase after spinning himself and collecting Roush teammate Matt Kenseth at Richmond (Sep. 6)

* David Gilliland takes out Juan Pablo Montoya on backstretch at Texas Motor Speedway (Nov. 2)

* Roush-Fenway fabrication shop after Carl Edwards takes out himself and teammates Greg Biffle and Matt Kenseth at Talladega (Oct. 5)

Best Driver2Crew Chatter Exchange -- For year's most memorable driver-to-pit crew communication (Visit www.sirius.com/stewieawards to hear audio of nominees)

* Dale Jarrett signs off and ends racing career by crossing finish line in All-Star Race at Lowe's Motor Speedway (May 17)

* Clint Bowyer declares Michael Waltrip "the worst driver in NASCAR" at Bristol (Tenn.) Motor Speedway (Aug. 23)

* Owner Rick Hendrick re-directs Dale Earnhardt, Jr.'s anger at New Hampshire (Sep. 4)

* Tony Stewart expresses concern paramedics will show up at #20 team pit box at Martinsville Speedway(Mar. 30)

Best Vocal Performance -- For year's most memorable quote or sound bite (Visit www.sirius.com/stewieawards to hear audio of nominees)

* Jimmie Johnson sums up his run at Texas Motor Speedway after Dickies 500 (Nov. 2)

* Steven Wallace reacts to Kyle Busch confronting him in race car after Nationwide race at Richmond (May 2)

* Ron Hornaday rips Kyle Busch after Craftsman Truck Series incident at Michigan International Speedway (Jun. 14)

* Kyle Busch is unwilling to accept Carl Edwards apology after being taken out in final laps at Bristol Motor Speedway (Aug. 23)

* Carl Edwards describes his desperation off-the-wall move at Kansas Speedway and where he learned it (Sep. 28)

The critically-acclaimed Tony Stewart Live debuted January 2, 2007 and airs weekly throughout the year exclusively on SIRIUS NASCAR Radio, available on SIRIUS channel 128 and on XM channel 128 with the "Best of SIRIUS" programming package. The two-hour show features Stewart and Yocum taking calls from listeners, talking with prominent guests and covering the spectrum of motorsports.

SIRIUS XM is the Official Satellite Radio Partner of NASCAR, broadcasting every NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR Nationwide Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race live on SIRIUS NASCAR Radio the only radio channel dedicated to NASCAR 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

-credit: tsr/sirius

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Sprint Cup
Drivers Dale Earnhardt , Jeff Gordon , Dale Jarrett , Matt Kenseth , Tony Stewart , Michael Waltrip , Juan Pablo Montoya , David Starr , Kevin Harvick , Kenny Wallace , Greg Biffle , Ryan Newman , Ron Hornaday Jr. , Jimmie Johnson , Michael McDowell , Scott Speed , Brian Vickers , Carl Edwards , Clint Bowyer , David Gilliland , David Ragan , Kyle Busch
Teams Stewart-Haas Racing , Germain Racing , Hendrick Motorsports , Michael Waltrip Racing , Joe Gibbs Racing