Spirit of Le Mans prizes for Moity, Pescarolo

The annual ACO (Automobile Club de l'Ouest) Le Mans press conference saw the presentation of two Spirit of Le Mans awards, an award created in 2001 to reward those people who have done a lot to spread the fame of Le Mans throughout the world.

The first recipient was Christian Moity, one of the biggest names in the French motorsport press, who spent 30 years at the head of the sporting columns of Automobile magazine, then he became Chief Editor of the magazine Auto Passion where he stayed for six years and he has followed the Le Mans race since the first edition after the war in 1949.

Henri Pescarolo and S?bastien Loeb.
Photo by Tom Haapanen.

The second Spirit of Le Mans award was presented to Henri Pescarolo, whose team and cars have attracted the enthusiasm and excitement of France on the eve of the 73rd Le Mans 24 Hours. Pescarolo made his debut in motorsport in 1964 and his results earned him promotion to Formula Three where he won 11 rounds of the 1967 championship. He went on to participate in 33 Le Mans races and won four of them, and now runs the Pescarolo Sport team which is taking part it in sixth Le Mans and will start the event with both cars on the front row.

Pescarolo's award was presented by Pescarolo Sport driver Sebastien Loeb whose car will start the 24 Hour race from second position.