Series releases engine counts available to teams for remainder of year

Eric Mauk

With six races remaining in the 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series season, IndyCar has released an update on how many fresh engines that each team has to their credit for the remainder of the year.

Four Honda teams and the luckless Lotus-powered HVM outfit of Simona de Silvestro's are already on their fifth engine of their designated allotment for the year. Although all Chevrolets were pulled prior to Long Beach, no Chevrolet teams are on their last fresh engine of the year. This is of vital importance - especially to Scott Dixon and Simon Pagenaud who are third and sixth respectively in the series points - because any team that uses more than five engines in a year will suffer grid penalties for unapproved changes.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan's Takuma Sato is among those on his last fresh engine of the year according to IndyCar
Rahal Letterman Lanigan's Takuma Sato is among those on his last fresh engine of the year according to IndyCar

Photo by:

Eleven others have one fresh engine remaining and only nine entrants have two fresh ones to use in the last six races. Rule 15.1.4 of the series rulebook states that, each full-season entrant will be provided with no more than five fresh built engines throughout each year covered by an engine service agreement. Engines beyond the fifth fresh engine may be fresh or used.

The breakdown of who's where based on number of fresh engines is below:

No. 4 Panther Racing/JR Hildebrand
No. 5 KV Racing Technology/E.J. Viso
No. 6/7 Dragon Racing/Katherine Legge/Sebastien Bourdais
No. 19 Dale Coyne Racing/James Jakes
No. 22 Panther DRR/Oriol Servia
No. 26 Andretti Autosport/Marco Andretti
No. 27 Andretti Autosport/James Hinchcliffe
No. 28 Andretti Autosport/Ryan Hunter-Reay
No. 98 Bryan Herta Autosport/Alex Tagliani

No. 2 Team Penske/Ryan Briscoe
No. 3 Team Penske/Helio Castroneves
No. 8 KV Racing Technology/Rubens Barrichello
No. 10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing/Dario Franchitti
No. 11 KV Racing Technology/Tony Kanaan
No. 12 Team Penske/Will Power
No. 18 Dale Coyne Racing/Justin Wilson
No. 20 Ed Carpenter Racing/Ed Carpenter
No. 38 Service Central Chip Ganassi Racing/Graham Rahal
No. 67 Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing/Josef Newgarden
No. 83 Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing/Charlie Kimball

No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing/Scott Dixon
No. 14 A.J. Foyt Enterprises/Mike Conway
No. 15 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing/Takuma Sato
No. 77 Schmidt Hamilton Motorsports/Simon Pagenaud
No. 78 Lotus HVM Racing/Simona de Silvestro

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Article type Breaking news
Tags dixon, ganassi, hamilton, honda, indycar, lotus, pagenaud, rahal, sato