Kansas: Justin Wilson preview

From streets to ovals: Justin prepares for Kansas Speedway With the 2009 IndyCar Series now fully underway, Justin and Dale Coyne Racing are preparing for their first oval race of the season at Kansas Speedway. Sunday's Road Runner Turbo Indy...

From streets to ovals: Justin prepares for Kansas Speedway

With the 2009 IndyCar Series now fully underway, Justin and Dale Coyne Racing are preparing for their first oval race of the season at Kansas Speedway. Sunday's Road Runner Turbo Indy 300, a flat-out blast around 200 laps of the 1.5 mile track, marks the first of six consecutive oval events on the schedule.

Justin makes his second Kansas Speedway appearance this weekend and he's hopeful that the #18 Z-Line Designs team can be fighting in the pack come race day. It's an important opportunity for Justin and the team to build on their pre-season test at Miami-Homestead as they look ahead to the month of May and the upcoming Indianapolis 500.

"I'm looking forward to going back to Kansas," said Justin. "Last year I finished 9th and this year I hope to have another strong run. We haven't had much time to work on the setup for the ovals yet, so I expect us to start off pretty conservatively and improve over the weekend. Everyone at Dale Coyne Racing has worked hard to improve the car since our test and I'm confident that we will have a good race car."

Practice and qualifying take place on Saturday and the race begins at 4pm CT (5pm ET, 10pm BST) on Sunday. For fans in the US there is a qualifying show on Versus at 6pm ET on Saturday, and live TV coverage of the race on Sunday. For fans in the UK the race will be shown (with a tape delay) on Sky Sports 2 at 11pm BST on Sunday night. As always there will be live timing and scoring and a video feed on www.indycar.com.

-credit: justinwilson.co.uk

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series INDYCAR