Fisher follows in the footsteps of Tony Kanaan, Sam Hornish Jr., and 2009 Indy 500 winner Helio Castroneves

INDIANAPOLIS May 25, 2009 Dollar General driver Sarah Fisher was selected as this year's recipient of the Scott Brayton Driver's Trophy Award, presented annually to the driver best exemplifying the character and racing spirit of the late driver Scott Brayton. Fisher received the award at the 2009 Indianapolis 500 victory banquet on May 25. The Scott Brayton Drivers Trophy is voted on by local, national and international media attending the race.

"I cannot believe I am receiving this award," said Fisher, who will count down the most current musical hits on FUSE TV's No. 1 Countdown Tuesday at 3 p.m. EDT. "This is such a huge honor for me. Thank you very much."

Brayton, a 14-time Indianapolis 500 starter, was killed in a practice crash in May 1996 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway just days after winning his second consecutive Indianapolis 500 pole.

Fisher qualified for her eighth Indianapolis 500 on May 10, 2009, and started from the outside of Row 7 on Memorial Day weekend, marking the most number of starts for a women in the 93-year history of the race. Fisher advanced four positions in Sunday's race to finish 17th, her career-best Indy 500 finish.

"I was really happy for all the guys on the team and to bring the Dollar General No. 67 home with four wheels, was huge for our small team" said Fisher. "Most people probably thought we wouldn't be back after last year, but I hope we've given people that extra hope in their own lives to keep moving forward regardless of the obstacles they encounter.

That extra hope was passed along to Fisher and her team when she was awarded the prestigious Scott Brayton Drivers Trophy. John Paul Jr. was the first recipient of the award in 1997 followed by Roberto Guerrero, Eliseo Salazar, 1998 Indianapolis 500 winner Eddie Cheever Jr., Davey Hamilton, 1990 and 97' Indianapolis 500 winner Arie Luyendyk, 1996 Indianapolis 500 winner Buddy Lazier, 2001, 02' and 09' Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves, 1999 Indianapolis 500 winner Kenny Brack, 2006 Indianapolis 500 winner, Sam Hornish Jr., Tony Kanaan and Vitory Meira.

"I'm honored to follow in the footsteps of those that have came before me," continued Fisher.

Fisher's 2009 IndyCar Series season continues June 6 at Texas Motor Speedway.

-credit: sarah fisher racing