Castroneves Takes Pole at Toronto

Helio Castroneves captured the prime position on the starting grid for Sunday's Molson Indy Toronto, the mid-point of the CART FedEx Championship Series. Castroneves' qualifying lap of 57.200 seconds (110.455 mph) bested 24 competitors on the 1.755-mile temporary street circuit before a record Toronto qualifying crowd of more than 52,500 fans. Mauricio Gugelmin led the Mercedes-Benz contingent, qualifying his PacWest Nextel Mercedes on the fifth row (10th place) for Sunday's 112-lap contest with a hot lap of 58.152 seconds (108.646 mph). The effort tied his career-best qualifying effort at the circuit. Teammate Mark Blundell, who won the 1997 event, had a productive morning practice when he ran as high as third quickest. But the Brit was unable to improve his position from Saturday's provisional qualifying, and placed his Motorola Mercedes 15th on the starting grid with a lap in 58.428 seconds (108.133 mph).

Bryan Herta, substituting for injured Tony Kanaan in the Hollywood/Mo Nunn Racing Mercedes, will start 18th (58.570 seconds/107.871 mph). Herdez/Bettenhausen Motorsports Mercedes driver Michel Jourdain Jr. qualified on the 10th row with a lap of 59.022 seconds (107.045 mph). Luiz Garcia Jr. will start 25th in his first career appearance at Toronto (61.268 seconds/103.121 mph).

Hakkinen Captures Pole for Austrian Grand Prix

West McLaren Mercedes driver and two-time defending driving champion Mika Hakkinen scored the pole position Saturday for the Austrian Grand Prix, the 10th round of the Formula One World Championship. It was Hakkinen's 25th career pole * fourth this season * and placed the Finnish pilot seventh on the all-time list. Teammate David Coulthard, who is currently second in the driver's championship, will start alongside Hakkinen on the front row. The Formula One World Championship returns to the United States on September 24 for the inaugural U.S. Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

<pre> Final Qualifying, Molson Indy Toronto Toronto, Ontario, Canada July 15, 2000

Pos.    Driver                  Engine          Time    Speed   
1       Helio Castroneves       Honda           57.200  110.455 
2       Cristiano da Matta      Toyota          57.539  109.804 
3       Michael Andretti        Ford            57.666  109.562 
4       Juan Montoya            Toyota          57.928  109.066 
5       Dario Franchitti        Honda           57.940  109.044 
6       Christian Fittipaldi    Ford Cosworth   57.949  109.027 
7       Kenny Brack             Ford Cosworth   57.984  108.961 
8       Gil de Ferran           Honda           58.045  108.847 
9       Adrian Fernandez        Ford Cosworth   58.056  108.826 
10      Mauricio Gugelmin       Mercedes-Benz   58.152  108.646 
15      Mark Blundell           Mercedes-Benz   58.428  108.133 
18      Bryan Herta             Mercedes-Benz   58.570  107.871 
20      Michel Jourdain Jr.     Mercedes-Benz   59.022  107.045 
25      Luiz Garcia Jr.         Mercedes-Benz   61.268  103.121