Las Vegas, NV (September 24, 1997) Derek Daly SpeedCentre Racing School and Team Green announced today the final ten nominees for the Team Green Academy Class of '97. These ten drivers join the fifteen previous nominees named in early August for the prestigious American Driver Development Program. The first phase of the Academy will be run October 16th -28th, consisting of four groups attending advanced three-day racing programs at SpeedCentre, based at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway. They will be under the guidance of Derek Daly, Chief Instructor Bob Earl, and Academy General Manager Kim Green.

Similar to the first fifteen drivers selected, the final ten nominees represent a wide range of driving series and specialties, from FF2000 to Karts to Continentals to even Pro Trucks. However, Daly, owner of SpeedCentre, notes that although race results are important, talent and ability are the keys to success.

"Some members of the Class of '97 have raced very little this season but we can still recognize their talent," comments Daly. "We are very happy to provide them with this opportunity."

Once the first phase is completed in October, the Final Five will return to SpeedCentre on December 2nd - 6th for another three-day advanced racing session, as well as intensive engineering and media seminars.

The final ten nominees, listed in alphabetical order and with their respective racing series in parenthesis, are: Tony Buffamonte (Star Mazda); Tim Enoch (Barber West); James Giacomelli (Karts); Philip Giebler (Karts); Bobby Oergel (Karts); Brett Simpson (Continentals); Jeff Simmons (Barber Dodge 2Liter); Seth Taylor (FF2000); Jeremy Treadway (Pro Truck); and B.J. Zacharias (Continentals).

# # #


Tony Buffamonte Chicago, IL Star Formula Mazda Shane Donley Las Vegas, NV Barber Dodge Western Series Paul Edwards Santa Maria, CA British Formula Ford Tim Enoch Franklin, TN Barber Dodge Western Series James Giacomelli Erie, PA World Karting Association Philip Giebler Oxnard, CA World Karting Association Tim Goetze Mamaroneck, NY Bridgestone FF2000 Alex Gurney Newport Beach, CA Barber Formula Dodge Ryan Hampton Glendora, CA United States FF2000 Joey Hand Elk Grove, CA International Karting Federation Andy Lally Northport, NY United States FF2000 Jason Lapoint San Rafael, Ca World Karting Association Robby McGehee St. Louis, MO United States FF2000 Chris Menninga Pella, IA Barber Dodge Pro Series Mikel Miller Lakeville, CT Star Formula Mazda Rocky Moran, Jr. Covina, CA Barber Dodge Pro Series Ryan Newman South Bend, In USAC Silver Crown/Midgets Bobby Oergel Arcadia, CA World Karting Association Buddy Rice Phoenix, AZ United States FF2000 Bryan Selby Alpine, CA United States FF2000 Brett Simpson Bremerton, WA Continentals Jeff Simmons East Granby, CT Barber Dodge 2 Liter Seth Taylor Austin, TX Formula Ford 2000 Jeremy Treadway Ticonderoga, NY Pro Truck Series-Northeast B. J. Zacharias Hamilton-Ross, OH Formula Continental