CHAMPCAR/CART: Michigan fast facts

<pre> FAST FACTS FOR THE MICHIGAN 500 PRESENTED BY TOYOTA WHAT: Michigan 500 Presented by Toyota. WHERE: Michigan International Speedway, Brooklyn Michigan. WHEN: Thursday-Sunday, July 19-22. SUPPORT EVENTS: ARCA RE/MAX Series. CART ...


WHAT: Michigan 500 Presented by Toyota. WHERE: Michigan International Speedway, Brooklyn Michigan. WHEN: Thursday-Sunday, July 19-22.


CART SCHEDULE (All times local):

FRIDAY, JULY 20 Champ Car rookie drivers practice, 9-9:30 a.m.; Champ Car practice, 9:30-11:15 a.m.; Champ Car practice, 1:45-3 p.m.

SATURDAY, JULY 21 Champ Car practice, 9-10 a.m.; Champ Car qualifying, noon-2 p.m.

SUNDAY, JULY 22 Champ Car warm-up, 9:30-10 a.m.; Grid Champ Cars, 12:45 p.m.; Michigan 500 Presented by Toyota, 1:30 p.m.

BROADCAST: TV - (ABC, live, 1:30 p.m. EDT, and in 195 countries worldwide).

RADIO - CART Radio Network. INTERNET - .

PRE-RACE PROGRAMMING: Michigan 500 Presented by Toyota pole qualifying, 4:30 p.m. ET Saturday, ESPN2; CART 2Day, 11 a.m. ET Sunday, ESPN2.


TRACK LAYOUT: Two-mile oval. RACE LENGTH: 250 laps, 500 miles.

TRACK RECORDS: Qualifying (one lap) - 2000, Paul Tracy, 234.949 miles per hour. Race (500 miles) - 1990, Al Unser Jr., 189.727 mph.

RACE NUMBER: 11 of 21 in the FedEx Championship Series.

FedEx CHAMPIONSHIP SERIES POINTS LEADERS: 1. Kenny Brack, Team Rahal, 84 points 2. Michael Andretti, Team Motorola, 73 3. Helio Castroneves, Marlboro Team Penske, 70 4. Dario Franchitti, Team KOOL Green, 65 5. Gil de Ferran, Marlboro Team Penske, 58. <pre> INSTANT REPLAY

Juan Montoya of Target Chip Ganassi Racing and Michael Andretti of Newman/Haas Racing waged a spellbinding wheel-to-wheel duel for the final 20 laps before Montoya emerged with the third-closest victory in Champ Car history in the 2000 Michigan 500 Presented by Toyota at Michigan Speedway. During a breathtaking afternoon that featured an official 52 lead changes at the start/finish line - second in all-time CART history to the 62 recorded in 1998 - and an unofficial 162 on the racetrack overall, Montoya (Target Toyota Lola) and Andretti (Kmart/Texaco/Havoline Ford Lola) went side-by-side until Montoya nosed ahead of his adversary coming off the final turn of the final lap to claim a 0.040-second victory, the ninth of his career. The margin of victory stands as the third-closest in the history of Champ Car competition, exceeded only by Mark Blundell's 0.027-second victory over Gil de Ferran at Portland in 1997 and Tony Kanaan's 0.032-second win over Montoya at Michigan in 1999. Dario Franchitti (KOOL Honda Reynard) of Team KOOL Green finished third, a career best in a 500-mile event. Despite coming up short at the checkered flag, Andretti assumed the FedEx Championship Series lead by virtue of his runner-up finish. He departed Michigan with 104 points, followed by Roberto Moreno (Visteon Ford Reynard) of Patrick Racing with 90 and Paul Tracy (KOOL Honda Reynard) of Team KOOL Green with 80.

Vital Race Statistics

Time of race: 2 hours, 48 minutes, 49.790 seconds. Average speed: 177.694 mph. Margin of victory: 0.040 seconds. Caution flags: 5 for 38 laps. Lap leaders: Helio Castroneves, 85 laps Michael Andretti, 58; Juan Montoya, 39; Kenny Brack, 18; Christian Fittipaldi, 13; Adrian Fernandez, 13; Max Papis, 9; Paul Tracy, 8; Alex Tagliani, 5; Oriol Servia 2.

MICHIGAN CART RACE HISTORY (32 Events) (All races 500 miles unless otherwise indicated)

Year Race Winner Pole Winner

1979 (125 miles)        Gordon Johncock         Bobby Unser
1979 (125 miles)        Bobby Unser             Gordon Johncock
1979 (150 miles)        Bobby Unser             Bobby Unser
1980 (200 miles)        Johnny Rutherford       Bobby Unser
1980 (150 miles)        Mario Andretti          Mario Andretti
1981                    Pancho Carter           Tom Sneva
1981 (150 miles)        Rick Mears              Rick Mears
1982                    Gordon Johncock         Mario Andretti
1982 (150 miles)        Bobby Rahal             Rick Mears
1983                    John Paul Jr.           Teo Fabi
1983 (200 miles)        Rick Mears              Bobby Rahal
1984                    Mario Andretti          Mario Andretti
1984 (200 miles)        Mario Andretti          Johnny Rutherford
1985                    Emerson Fittipaldi      Bobby Rahal
1985 (200 miles)        Bobby Rahal             Bobby Rahal
1986                    Johnny Rutherford       Rick Mears
1986 (250 miles)        Bobby Rahal             Rick Mears
1987                    Michael Andretti        Michael Andretti
1988                    Danny Sullivan          Rick Mears
1989                    Michael Andretti        Emerson Fittipaldi
1990                    Al Unser Jr.            Emerson Fittipaldi
1991                    Rick Mears              Rick Mears
1992                    Scott Goodyear          Mario Andretti
1993                    Nigel Mansell           Mario Andretti
1994                    Scott Goodyear          Nigel Mansell
1995                    Scott Pruett            Parker Johnstone
1996 (U.S. 500)         Jimmy Vasser            Jimmy Vasser
1996                    Andre Ribeiro           Jimmy Vasser
1997 (U.S. 500)         Alex Zanardi            Scott Pruett
1998 (U.S. 500)         Greg Moore              Adrian Fernandez
1999 (U.S. 500)         Tony Kanaan             Jimmy Vasser
2000                    Juan Montoya            Paul Tracy

All-time victories

Mario Andretti          3
Rick Mears              3
Bobby Rahal             3
Gordon Johncock         2
Bobby Unser             2
Johnny Rutherford       2
Michael Andretti        2
Scott Goodyear          2
Pancho Carter           1
John Paul Jr.           1
Emerson Fittipaldi      1
Danny Sullivan          1
Al Unser Jr.            1
Nigel Mansell           1
Scott Pruett            1
Jimmy Vasser            1
Andre Ribeiro           1
Alex Zanardi            1
Greg Moore              1
Tony Kanaan             1
Juan Montoya            1

All-time pole positions

Rick Mears              6
Mario Andretti          5
Jimmy Vasser            3
Bobby Unser             3
Bobby Rahal             3
Emerson Fittipaldi      2
Gordon Johncock         1
Tom Sneva               1
Teo Fabi                1
Johnny Rutherford       1
Michael Andretti        1
Nigel Mansell           1
Parker Johnstone        1
Scott Pruett            1
Adrian Fernandez        1
Paul Tracy              1


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Al Unser Jr. , Scott Goodyear , Helio Castroneves , Gil de Ferran , Michael Andretti , Jimmy Vasser , Max Papis , Adrian Fernandez , Roberto Moreno , Bobby Rahal , Alex Tagliani , Christian Fittipaldi , Paul Tracy , Dario Franchitti , Alex Zanardi , Tony Kanaan , Oriol Servia , Kenny Brack , Nigel Mansell , Scott Pruett , Mark Blundell , Mario Andretti , Rick Mears , Bobby Unser , Tom Sneva , Danny Sullivan , Emerson Fittipaldi , Chip Ganassi , Gordon Johncock , Pancho Carter , John Paul , Teo Fabi , Andre Ribeiro , Greg Moore , Johnny Rutherford
Teams Team Penske , Chip Ganassi Racing