BELLEVILLE, KS -- (March 21) -- There will be 10 new members inducted into the Highbanks Hall of Fame & National Midget Auto Racing Museum for the year 2000, it was announced by Selection Committee Chairman, Don McChesney.

The inductees for 2000 are: Jon Backlund, versatile Midget and Sprint Car driver who won the 1971 BCRA Sprint Championship by sweeping the last two races that year at Belleville; Lloyd Beckman, a many time Nebraska Supermodified Champion, who recently passed away at the age of 72; Pat Cunningham, although small of stature, Cunningham was virtually unbeatable at Belleville in the 1920s; Cotton Farmer was a nationally known Big Car driver in the 1950s and 60s; Stan Fox, won the Belleville Nationals in 1979 and 1980 as well as many other national Midget races all over the country. Eddie Jackson, was a many time Rocky Mountain Midget Racing Association Champion and was the winner of the inaugural Belleville Nationals in 1978. LaVerne Nance was one of the top Sprint, Supermodified and Dirt Championship car builders and won the 1981 and 1982 World of Outlaws Championship with driver, Sammy Swindell. Gordie Shuck, was a multiple time champion in roadsters and Big Cars during the 1940s and 1950s. Sleepy Tripp, a two-time Belleville Nationals Champions in 1985 and 1987. Tripp also won several USAC Western States Midget Championships, along with the 1975 USAC National Midget Championship. Jay Woodside, a long time Belleville competitor, Woodside won the Knoxville Nationals and BCRA Sprint Car Championship in 1966.

The induction ceremony will take place at the Belleville High School Auditorium on Saturday, July 29, 2000 from 10am to noon with dinner scheduled from noon to 1pm. The 1999 Hall of Fame class will also be honored at this event. 1999 inductees are: Andy Anderson; Ernest Forshee; the Goodrich Family; Bobby Grim; Bill Hill; Mitch Miller; Jim Roper; Bill Smith; Les and Beryl Ward; and Chet Wilson. The Highbanks Hall of Fame and National Midget Auto Racing Museum is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization, and all contributions are tax deductible. The Hall of Fame is also giving away a new pickup truck at the 2000 Belleville Nationals. The lucky winner will have their choice of a 2000 Chevy S10, Ford Ranger, Dodge Dakota or $10,000 in cash.

Tickets for this giveaway are $100 each and can be purchased by writing to the: Highbanks Hall of Fame and National Midget Auto Racing Museum, P O Box 264, Belleville KS 66935.