For Immediate Release


ENGLEWOOD, Colo. -- The United States Road Racing Championship Board of Directors has been assembled to provide governance for the newly-created Can-Am and GT series.

The Board -- comprised of competitors, promoters, SCCA representatives and an at-large individual -- will promote the philosophical direction of the USRRC, as well as direct all event operations and USRRC staff.

"The group we've assembled has diverse backgrounds, but each member holds a common vision for North American road racing," said Board member Robert R. Dyson. "Each member strives for a unified road racing community, and believes the USRRC and its Can-Am and GT series to be the most suitable vehicle for this process."

The United States Road Racing Championship Governing Board is comprised of John R. Saunders, Kevin Doran, Robert R. Dyson, Nicholas W. Craw, Carl Haas, Robert Snodgrass and a promoter to be named later.

John R. Saunders (Promoter) -- President and Chief Operating Officer, Watkins Glen International Inc. John R. Saunders was named general manager of WGI after being acquired by Corning Inc. and International Speedway Corporation in July 1983. He was named president in December 1983, and was elected to the WGI Board of Directors in 1985. Saunders also is a director of Americrown Corp. and a member of the executive staff of the International Speedway Corp..

Kevin Doran (Competitor) -- President, Doran Enterprises. Kevin Doran's first professional motorsports experience came with Al Holbert from 1984-1988. After working with various teams from 1989-1992, Doran started his own team, and has worked with Gianpiero Moretti since 1993. Doran was part of three-consecutive IMSA GTP Championships from 1985-1987, and earned IMSA WSC Technician-of-the-Year honors in 1993 and 1994.

Robert R. Dyson (Competitor) -- Chairman and CEO, The Dyson-Kissner-Moran Corp. Robert R. Dyson is both an accomplished driver and team owner. With more than 60 IMSA and PSCR starts to his credit since 1981, Dyson has won three races, including the 1997 Rolex 24 at Daytona. His team, Dyson Racing, earned both the 1997 PSCR Drivers' (Butch Leitzinger) and Team Championships. Dyson also serves on the Cornell University Board of Trustees.

Nicholas W. Craw (SCCA) -- President of SCCA, Inc. Nicholas W. Craw has served as President of SCCA, Inc. since 1983, and has seen the organization's membership grow by well over 100 percent over his tenure. Prior to joining the SCCA staff, Craw's experience included stints as Director of the Peace Corps, Associate Director of Action/Vista and Director of Operations and Logistics for Project Hope.

Carl Haas (SCCA) -- Chairman, SCCA Pro Racing, Ltd. Board of Directors. One of the most successful men in racing, Haas' teams have won 11 championships over the past two decades. A principle in Newman-Haas Racing (CART) and Kranefuss/Haas Racing (NASCAR), Haas has also fielded teams in the SCCA Formula 5000, Super Vee and Can-Am series, and was the lone American entrant in Formula One in 1985-1986. Haas also serves on the board of Championship Auto Racing Teams, is the race organizer of The Milwaukee Mile and the Houston Grand Prix and is a member of the Road America Board of Directors.

Robert Snodgrass (At Large) -- President and CEO, Brumos Motor Cars Inc. Since attending his first race at Watkins Glen in 1948, Robert Snodgrass has held motorsports high on his list of passions in life. Snodgrass has built an automotive empire with one of the largest Porsche and Mercedes dealerships in the United States. As the head of the Brumos racing program, Snodgrass' cars have won numerous IMSA and SCCA Pro Racing championships in the 1970s, '80s and '90s.