One-Two By IMSA Performance In The Closing Race

With Marcel Fassler and Joel Camathias (Trottet Ferrari) crowned GT Open champions already yesterday, the last race of 2009 offered a nice opportunity for revenge to the Porsches, that the German machines didn't miss, trusting the last podium of the year.

IMSA Performance Matmut took a superb one-two with Patrick Pilet-Raymond Narac and Richard Balandras-Jean-Philippe Belloc while Gianluca Roda-Richard Lietz (Autorlando), third, secured the vice-championship.

It was a one-two also in GTS with the Aston Martins of Lucas Guerrero-Max Wiser and Gabriele Lancieri-Max Busnelli dominating the race ahead of the excellent Mosler GT3 of Martin Short (again on the podium) and giving to the Villois Racing a well-deserved GTS Teams title, the last crown to be decided in this year's edition.

The suspense came to an end also in the Spanish GT Championship, with Portuguese pair Ricardo Bravo-Lourenco Da Veiga (ASM Ferrari) clinching the final success.

Poleman Pilet pulled away easily at the start, ahead of Camathias, Cioci, De Castro, Roda, Da Veiga, Carol, Gutierrez, Balandras and Wiser, while a beautiful fight opposed Camathias and Cioci, followed not far away by De Castro (who takes provisional advantage in the fight for the Spanish title) and Roda. In lap 8, Cioci managed to pass and took second.

Things went smoothly until the pit stop; when this is finished, it is Perazzini (on the Megadrive Ferrari, with no handicap) leading with over 9 seconds on Narac, 21 on Belloc, followed by Aguas, Lietz (long time stuck in traffic), Bravo (who has taken control over Amaral for the Spanish title), Villalba and Fassler.

The last laps are really exciting with Narac catching up on Perazzini. The Italian defended strenuously his leadership, but had to surrender to Narac in lap 25 and was passed also by Belloc and Lietz in the last lap. Aguas is fifth ahead of Fassler.

Overall Champions: Joel Camathias (CH) Marcel Fassler (CH) / Trottet Racing Ferrari
Super GT Champions: Joel Camathias (CH) Marcel Fassler (CH)/ Trottet Racing Ferrari
Super GT Team Champion: Autorlando Sport (IT)
GTS Champions: Philipp Peter (AT) Michal Broniszewski (PL) / Kessel Racing Ferrari
GTS Team Champion: Villois Racing (IT)

-credit: gto