GT Open Champions Received Their Honors In Madrid

The GT Open community starred in the RFEA Ceremony

The Champions of the International GT Open received their well-deserved trophies and acclaims during the 2009 Award Ceremony of the Royal Spanish Motorsports Federation (RFEA), which took place in Madrid.

Joel Camathias and Marcel Fassler, the overall champions, looked delighted and came to the ceremony together with Francois Trottet and Gilles Francon from Trottet Racing. Gianluca Roda took the runner-up trophies also on behalf of team-mate Richard Lietz, who could not attend because of a flue, while Patrick Pilet took the trophies for third classified, his team-mate Raymond Narac being unfortunately stuck in France by the snow storm.

Philipp Peter and Michal Broniszewski collected the top honors of the GTS category, with Pierre Del Don and Tiziana Borghi representing Kessel Racing, flanked by the two Villois Racing drivers, Max Wiser and Lucas Guerrero, who finished second and third in the championship.

Orlando Redolfi for Autorlando and Chicco Villois for Villois Racing received the trophies for the winning teams in Super GT and GTS.

The RFEA ceremony was attended by 300 people: Spain's Secretary of State for Sports Jaime Lissavetsky and RFEA President Carlos Gracia presided the event, which counted with the presence of numerous big names of Spanish motorsports, such as Adrian Campos, Marc Genè, Pedro de la Rosa, Jaime Alguersuari and Andy Soucek.

After the ceremony, the International GT Open awardees gathered for a dinner at the Casino de Madrid hosted by Jesus Pareja, CEO of GT Sport, where the excellent spirit reigning in the GT Open was proved once again and everybody showed enthusiasm ahead of the 2010 season.

-credit: gto